Day 35 - ending at Hobbs, NM - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2023

Day 35 - ending at Hobbs, NM

Day 35 - Brownfield, TX to Hobbs, NM
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had the alarm set for 4:30am, but woke up at 4:00am. Went over to Stripes convenience store for Gatorade, Clif Bars, and ice. Then finished loading the bike. Got the bike into the parking lot without anything exciting happening this time. I left at 5:39am, then stopped at McDonald's a short time later for breakfast. I think I could have gotten by without adding a cinnamon roll to the Big Breakfast with Hotcakes I had. All ready to leave at 6:33am.

My destination today, as it was yesterday before the wiring problem, is Hobbs, New Mexico. I had it figured as 72 miles to Harry McAdams Campground in Hobbs. The forecast called for winds to be from the northeast in the morning, and then from the southwest in the afternoon. So, for this long mileage day, an early start was an advantage, since Hobbs is to the southwest.

Riding for the first part was on US-62. The northeast wind was certainly there pushing me along on this cool Sunday morning. I passed through Wellman at 7:43am and Seagraves at 8:43am. I went a block into Seagraves to look around. I passed their museum and took a few pictures. My plan had me turning west at Seagraves, but to take advantage of the wind, I went farther south on US-62.

At 9:58am, I turned off the highway to go west on CR-216. Since I wasn't following my plan anymore, I kept referring to Google Maps to see when to turn. I was still making good time with the tailwind.

The noon alarm sounded just as I was getting ready to cross CR-231. 50.1 miles! I think that's a noon mileage record for me, and I have the tailwind to thank for that. I stopped for a break there, listening to meadowlarks as I ate a Clif Bar.

It wasn't much after noon when the wind direction did change to from-the-south, and maybe also a little from-the-west. Google Maps wanted me to go straight another mile when I got to CR-237, but there wasn't anything I'd call a road there. I went back north a ways, then took paved CR-214 west.

At 1:38 pm I crossed from Texas on CR-214 to New Mexico on to CR-96, and I think also from Central Time to Mountain Time. So it's now 12:38pm MDT.

This afternoon's riding was much slower, but I was still getting there. I finally hooked back up with the waypoints of my pre-trip plan and made it to the campground at 2:55pm (MDT).

I looked around some and then chose site #10. I used the last envelope they had to pay the $18 registration fee. I set up on the asphalt RV pad, since there was a sign saying no personal items on the grass. The southwest wind made that a challenge, since I couldn't use stakes. The other challenge is the nearest unlocked bathroom is a 5-minute walk away.

I ate supper from my lunch bag, then got started on the report. Tomorrow's another planned long day. Looks like starting out early really helps, so that'll be the plan for tomorrow also.

Jeff

Spent: $12.51 (Gatorade, Clif Bars) + $12.95 (breakfast) + $18 (campsite) = $43.46

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Left or right, not straight.
Heart 2 Comment 0
New Mexico ahead.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Jeanna & Kerry SmithBeautiful photo!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna and Kerry,
Thanks! My sunset pictures are starting to get more of a desert look to them.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 1,456 miles (2,343 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0