Day 37 - still at Carlsbad, NM - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2023

Day 37 - still at Carlsbad, NM

I slept in my motel room bed until 6:25am this morning, missing the sunrise. I had list of things that I wanted to get done today. First, of course, breakfast, then laundry, buy lunchbox food, and visit the bike shop in town to see about getting a patch kit that uses glue.

At 7:30am, I had the bike in the parking lot, loaded with laundry, ready to go. I squeezed the tires, and discovered the front tire was soft. I rotated the wheel with it still on the bike and easily found the problem - a truck tire tread wire. I left the bike in the parking lot and took the wheel back upstairs to replace the tube. That was my last new tube, so I'll definitely have to get the ones with holes in them patched.

Back on schedule at 8:00am, I rode over to Pecos River Cafe on Canal Street. They were busy. They have one table that seats one, and it was available. At my hometown cafe they have a similar table, though it seats two. The waitresses there call it the "Time Out Table". I enjoyed watching all the activity in this place as I ate. Afterwards I accepted the free coffee to-go offer.

The Laundry Basket was just a block farther south along Canal Street. This was the first time I've used a credit card to start a washing machine. Having a cup of coffee to drink while I sat there was nice.

With the laundry back on the bike, I went to the Family Dollar store on Mermod Street for food for my lunch bag. I hope it all fits. It should. My bag is pretty empty.

Next, on to Zia Bike and Board Shop. They have a tube repair kit that has 18 glue-on patches, a tube of glue, plus three tire levers. I let them keep the tire levers to give to someone else who might need them.

Finding a route back to the motel that didn't involve getting into highway traffic brought me to a path along the river. Finally back in my room at 11:58am.

Shortly after noon, I walked next door to Monarca Express for a to-go large Coke with ice. Then I called my wife. We talked for 45 minutes. Sounds like we'll have our new roof on before the end of the week. It's been really dry in Central Illinois lately, I heard. The front yard shingle oak is getting a drink from time to time.

After the phone call I got to work on yesterday's report. With that done, at 4:45pm I took off walking to supper. Ended up at Mi Casita Restaurant, since the first Mexican restaurant I chose wasn't at the location Google Maps indicated. I did a little more sightseeing around downtown after supper, then bought tomorrow's supply of Gatorade at Roadrunner Express.

Time to patch the tubes I have that have holes in them. That took a lot longer than I figured it would. Inspected them all in the sink filled with water. We're good, at least for now.

I'm excited about tomorrow, since I'll be joining up with the Great Plains Trail where it passes northwest of Carlsbad. Then I'll be my on my way north.

I'm also glad I got to see Carlsbad. My father lived near Carlsbad for a time when he was a small boy. His dad worked for the railroad, which provided a boxcar for the family to live in. Growing up, my sisters and I heard lots of stories about this desert-like area.

Jeff

Spent: $90.04 plus $5 (motel room) + $22.01 plus $5 (breakfast) + $4.75 (laundry) + $28.35 (lunch bag items, batteries, toothpaste) + $11.82 (patch kit) + $4.04 (Coke) + $14.25 plus $3 (supper) + $5.38 (Gatorade) = $193.64

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltBurbank spineless prickly pear.

http://www.lutherburbank.org/about-us/specialty-gardens/spineless-cactus
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0