Pedaling in the New Year - Forty Two Miles A Day And Going Nowhere. - CycleBlaze

January 1, 2021

Pedaling in the New Year

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a social day. I ran into Scott and Rachael Anderson twice. I also saw  Hank and Brigette. 

I rode south, because I wanted an easy, deserted ride. That is not what I got. I don't know if it was a big, organized ride, or if it was groups of friends out for the first ride of the year. I saw groups of up to 10-12 riders going both directions. Today was the first time I saw large numbers of two wheeled recumbents. Perhaps ten? Perhaps ten trikes. One tandem. Two hand cycle trikes. I don't think the same ones I'd seen before. One dog in a pink stroller, pushed by a man. 

I had an invitation from the velomobile man to ride The Loop today. I had declined as his speed would be much faster than mine. The temperature was warm enough that I shed my vest when I saw Scott and Rachael. As I continued on, I considered riding the loop. It didn't take long to talk myself out of the idea. 

I stopped at a restroom that I've used before. A door flopped open as I bicycled up. A homeless man was kneeling on the floor next to several bags. Two more homeless men were standing outside. There was also a woman standing next to two bicycles. I debated asking her if she would watch my bicycle also, but I decided I didn't need to stop that badly. 

On the return trip, Rachel flew past me - "Hello, Kelly" floated behind her as she sped down the path. About a mile later Scott recognized me and pulled over. He was trying to catch Rachael and was happy to hear he was close. Off he went. I continued on, counting the miles down to the motel. I wanted to arrive, but I didn't want my warm riding in Arizona to come to a finish. Just a few miles from the motel, I heard my name called out again. It was Hank! He and Brigette had been checking out the artwork along the northern section of the path. We talked about the new bike Brigette planned to order and hopeful summer touring plans.

I've had a great two weeks. I've ridden every single day, with a total of 660 miles. My average daily mileage was 47 miles! A big thank you to Rachael for inspiring me to reach higher. I wouldn't have ridden that big of daily distance except for her steady example of setting a goal and following through.

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 658 miles (1,059 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Bill ShaneyfeltEnjoyed the rides! Thanks for the nature photos!
Happy New Year.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonHappy to discover your journal and to follow along on your warm weather rides! Well done on reaching your goal and a happy New Year!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezSuzanne,

Thank you for the warm greeting. I hope you have many cycling opportunities in 2021!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rachael AndersonGreat job with putting in so many miles! I’m glad we had a chance to meet, I’m going to miss running into you on the loop. Have a safe trip home. We look forward to reading about your future adventures.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Mark HoffmannI thought I'd use this space to comment on your upcoming Mich and Wis tour. WI is my home state, and our family has a cabin in Door County. I thought I'd mention that for one little segment of your long tour- between Sister Bay and Egg Harbor - you show yourselves using Hwy 42. It can be incredibly busy, especially on a Fri-Sun in the summer. Plus there is little to see from that road. An alternate route would be this one: https://ridewithgps.com/routes/36401388
I also added a short leg to Pebble Beach in Little Sister Bay, just south of Sister Bay. You'd pass a nice cemetery full of Scandinavian names (my father, although a German Hoffmann, is also buried there) and then you'd come to a public beach on a quiet bay. (The far dock down the right shore is ours, fwiw.)
The Hwy 42 leg to Ephraim is fine to ride and it slows down and goes right along the water through Ephraim. But then when you leave Ephraim, up a short hill, you could go through Peninsula State Park. Free for nonmotorized vehicles, lots of tree tunnels, nice water views, even a hard gravel path parallel to the road if it feels too busy. A new viewing tower just opened, too, and this video shows someone walking their bike on the 850' accessibility ramp:
https://www.jsonline.com/videos/news/2021/05/26/aerial-view-newly-opened-peninsula-state-parks-eagle-tower/7450178002/ .
I look forward to following you. All the best in your prep!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Mark HoffmannMark,

There is nothing better than a local's knowledge! I'm going to share it also with Scott and Rachel, as they are in the area right now. If you could please leave that map live until we get there? I've been having trouble fixing a route between towns, because there are so many road choices. That is a new problem for me - usually we have one road, or perhaps two. But there are all sorts of back roads on this route! Trails also, but I'm suspect of many of the trails because it sounds like they are really snowmobile trails and far too rough of a ride for us. Marilyn said they gave up on the trails in Wisconsin for that reason - rough, snowmobile trails.

Thanks again!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Mark HoffmannMark - Would you have a suggestion for the entire day from Sturgeon Bay to Sister Bay? Those are our planned overnight spots.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark Hoffmann
Hi Kelly,

Upon closer look at your Summer, 2021 map I now see that you plan to head north on the west side of the Door Peninsula, and then after your Gills Rock loop, return to Sturgeon on the east side. Thus, the map I posted was in the wrong direction for you.

Beyond that, however, I think your route on both sides of the Peninsula is great, other than the bit where I've suggested some side roads from Egg Harbor to Sister Bay. You've done a good job avoiding Hwy 42 going north, and another good job avoiding the equally busy Hwy 57 when you head back south to Sturgeon. When I've been back for visits I've ridden the Sister Bay-Sturgeon Bay-Sister Bay loop on the roads you've chosen. Other than the new state park lookout, there are no "don't miss" stops I can think of. Wilson's in Ephraim has great ice cream. Al Johnson's in Sister Bay has great Swedish pancakes (or dinner fare) and the Sister Bay Bowl has great fish. But, while those places are still there, my memories go back 50+ years, and lots of newer places are very good, too, I'm sure.

Fwiw, Here is a corrected south-to-north route, this time starting in Sturgeon Bay and ending in Sister Bay:
https://ridewithgps.com/routes/36411150
(Note: In the state park it stays on the road instead of the hardpacked gravel trail since the road has access to the turnoff viewpoints of the bay, while the trail is separated from those by a strip of forest. Your choice, of course, when you get there, if you go that way.)

I think your Gills Rock loop looks fine, although to avoid a boring mile of Hwy 42, at mile 1400.7 you could turn left on Bluebird Trail and then follow to the Door Bluff Road to rejoin 42 at mile 1402.

If I were visiting this summer I'd brew Jacinto some good coffee and ride a few miles with you. But, things happening here are keeping us home on the West Coast.

Mark
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezMark - thank you again - there's nothing better than a local's knowledge.

Jacinto is debating the coffee this year - he's thinking about carrying his favorite brand of coffee (Cafe du Monde). He would need four small cans, one for each pannier. I'm saying nothing - he has the legs!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettHappy New Year Kelly and Jacinto and congrats on biking every day in Tucson! Something to aspire to for sure, but we'll also likely be dancing several days a week, so won't bike on those days. Hope it warms up by the time we get there this next week!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago