Stick to the roads. Stay clear of the moors. - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2023

Stick to the roads. Stay clear of the moors.

Eureka, MT to Ford's Cabin

Where wolf?There wolf. There Castle.
Heart 3 Comment 0

American Werewolf AND Young Frankenstein? Where else are you gonna get 2 movie references in one post? 

Sticking to the roads
Heart 6 Comment 0

The title is a quote from the great movie An American Werewolf in London. I knew to heed that warning, even though there might not have been any moors about. It's better to be safe when it comes to the moors.

 Today I climbed 3425 feet over incredibly steep, rough and rocky terrain through griz-infested forests. Good job none of them bothered me, or I would have given them a good thrashing. Haha!

Heart 3 Comment 0
I didn't see any bullet hole riddled road signs in Canada. But plenty in the US. It's really a stupid thing to do. But I guess if we're invaded by sign-shaped aliens, these yokels will have had plenty of practice.
Heart 5 Comment 6
Andrea BrownAccording to the latest research, small dick energy sign-shooting is inversely proportioned to the size of one's calves.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownInteresting. I need to absorb that determine whether I should express outrage or laughter.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Mike AylingWe have a lot of shot up signs here in Oz too.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanMaybe they had empty bottles on top of the signs and were really bad shots.

Just giving the losers the benefit of the doubt. But in the end I doubt they have any benefit at all.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Mike AylingIt's spreading!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanHaha good point!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
No griz today, but plenty of butterflies.
Heart 10 Comment 5
Andrea BrownBut they look ferocious and I'm sure you fought them off bravely.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownThey didn't know what hit them.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like some species (more than one) of checkerspot... Nice grouping!

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/130316-Melitaeini
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanBeautiful butterflies!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting. I saw them several times along the the route grouped like that.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 7 Comment 0

I started off in Eureka with a sausage and egg burrito and a Starbucks double shot (can) from the C store across the street. Very good. The steep climbing began almost immediately, and continued steadily for about 25 miles and 3450 feet. It was paved 2 lane for awhile then turned to packed gravel forest road with a more gentle grade. A few drivers stopped to talk and wish me luck. I met 3 GDMBR riders, 2 Swiss and Stan from Portland. We chatted for a few minutes and they went ahead. I trudged up the road, which soon deteriorated into loose, steep gravel and large rocks, requiring me to hike a bike for several stretches.

Swiss and Stan from Portland
Heart 5 Comment 0
This was one of the most remote and rugged sections of the route so far
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
It's hard to see, but the road really turned to shit for awhile.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I thought I'd stop at Tuchuk Campground, 33 miles, but after a brief stop I decided to continue on the mostly flowy and fast downhill for a few more miles. 

The difference between what you want and what you need is what you can put on a horse-Emily Blunt, The English
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Ford's Cabin
Heart 5 Comment 0

After 47 miles and 3500 feet of climbing I got to Ford's Cabin, which is a USFS rental. There was a water hydrant and very clean long dropper (outhouse).  I put up the tent and had a quiet night in the yard. 

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 255 miles (410 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Gregory GarceauStay away from the Moors, indeed. I was maybe a year out of college when I saw that movie in the early 1980's, so the main things I remember about it were the graphic violence (pretty tame by today's standards though), the pain-inducing scenes involving the metamorphosis of man into werewolf and, most importantly, the HUMOR. Damn, that movie was funny. I'm not a movie historian or anything, but An American Werewolf in London has to be one of the pioneers in horror/comedy filmmaking. Also, it featured one of my favorite Creedence Clearwater Revival songs.

Don't get me going about "Young Frankenstein."
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauI agree with every bit of that. It was groundbreaking, funny, graphic and brilliant. And I loved how they used Bad Moon Rising in it.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
George HallJust discovered your journal and am now caught up. Road tours are more my thing these days, I don't seem to crave the backwoods experience as much as I once did - but reading your journal is rekindling some interest. My chief riding partner wants to do the Great Divide route, so who knows - maybe some day - in the meantime I'll live vicariously through your journal.

But who is this Greg Garceau guy you have mentioned several times?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Lisa LeslieThanks for these new entries. I had no idea you’d had any nights where there were no other riders camping near you. Must have been really peaceful and quiet.

Maybe a night alone will end up being sorta “Abby”? As in “Abby Someone - Abby Normal”

Yeah, we’d all best leave the Young Frankenstein quotes alone.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo George HallThanks for reading, George. This route has been amazing, the hardest thing I've ever done and most incredible. I highly recommend it. At least, the part I've done so far.
Greg Garceau is a prominent Cycleblazer who recently completed his Imaginary World Tour in only 32 days, which I'm sure is a record that will never be broken.
https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/fictional/
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Lisa LeslieThere were a few Abby-Normal moments. Yeah, I was camped alone a few times. It was fine, always a little tinge of concern in bear country, but don't forget The Captain and Tenille.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
George HallTo Ron SuchanekRon - please forgive me, I was just being silly about Greg - EVERYBODY knows who the famous Greg Garceau is, and I enjoyed his ride around the world tremendously. I was bitterly disappointed to discover that he wasn't really riding 1,000 miles per day, but he's still a heroic character. I tour on paved roads mostly and find it to sometimes be very challenging and at the max of my ability- but it's small potatoes compared to the route you are riding. Best of luck with the remainder, I'll be following along.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo George HallHahah, sorry I should have realized.that you are a Greg fan. Who isn't?
Thanks for following!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago