Low Mileage, High Adventure - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2022

Low Mileage, High Adventure

River Falls, Wisconsin

I had never camped at Willow River State Park.  I had never even been to Willow River State Park.  I'd heard good things about Willow River State Park, but never thought much about visiting Willow River State Park.  Big mistake.  Now I can say, I really, really LIKE Willow River State Park.

Despite being view blockers, I like the big pine trees.  I like how they remind me of being out west.  I like how their aroma is a natural version of those pine-scented air fresheners.  I liked my private campsite in this busy campground.

I liked the park so much that I decided to hike some of its trails before leaving.  What a great decision that turned out to be. 

I started out with the obvious one--the trail to the Willow River Falls.  I think waterfalls are pretty cool--even small ripples and cascades.  Honestly, a small cascade was what I thought I was going to see this morning.

I started hiking at about 6:30 a.m.  That's due to my waking up at 4:30 a.m., which, in turn, is due to me falling asleep last night at 8:30 p.m.  I could not go back to sleep.  Finally, I gave up and made some coffee at first light.

I love coffee pictures.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I love visits from animals too.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Normally I just drink coffee for breakfast, but today I felt hungry.  I made a morning meal of macaroni & cheese.  Goooooood stuff.  Then I went all out and added a couple mouthfuls of beef jerky.

Even after such a feast, I was still on the hiking trail to the falls by 6:30, which I think I already wrote up there above the coffee and deer photos. 

The first interesting thing I saw was a little chipmunk carrying something pink in its mouth.  The pink object was nearly half its body size.  The chipmunk tried to race across the trail with that chunk of pinkness, but dropped it when he saw me approaching.

It was a soggy strawberry wafer cookie. I like those things, but not so much that I was tempted to eat that one.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Then I saw another deer. I was hoping for a moose, but a deer will do.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The trail went down to a lake, the name of which I can't remember. I missed the true sunrise because of all the viewblockers, but this low hanging sun was pretty nice.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Here's another lake picture.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Here's another deer.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Needless to say, I was super happy with my hike so far.  None of that prepared me for the ultra-mongo-spectacularity that was the Willow River Falls.  I'll let the pictures do the talking.

Heart 12 Comment 0
I prepared to dive into the awesomely amazing wonderousness, but then I didn't do it.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Wish you were here!
Heart 8 Comment 1
Keith KleinArrrgh. It’s 39C here and looking at that lovely water is torture. I wish I was there!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I had the whole place to myself at that time of the morning.  I lingered there for a long time, climbing the rocks and viewing the falls from many angles.  I committed myself to bringing The Feeshko here someday.  I know she'd appreciate it as much as I did.

From the falls, the trail climbed steeply.  So steeply that I was glad I didn't violate the "no bikes" rule the park had instituted for this trail.  I would only have embarrassed myself.

I walked for about two hours.  Eventually, I made it back to the campground.  I tried and failed to take a nap.  I made more coffee.  I got out my notebook and put the finishing touches on my wine review.

Eventually it was time to pack up my stuff and get back on my bike.  After all, this isn't a hiking and camping website, it's a bike touring website.  So I rode on almost every paved surface in the park.

The hiking trails aren't the only place you can see deer around here.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I couldn't believe it was already noon.  It was time to start heading southeast.  Had I not been so smitten by Willow River State Park, I thought I might like to head north and west to Stillwater, Minnesota.  But you know what?  Stillwater is a bigger, more touristy version of Hudson, and Hudson was touristy enough for me.  I know I'm a tourist too, but still.

My new plan was to backtrack through parts of Hudson, then navigate my way southeast on some backroads to the college town of River Falls.

Part of my cycle touring schtick is that I rarely eat in restaurants and even more rarely do I take pictures of my food.  When I see a taco truck, however, I make an exception.  That's what happened when I came across Juanita's Tacos.

Juanita's Taco Truck
Heart 3 Comment 2
Ron Suchanekhttps://youtu.be/0yHuv0tufcE
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Ron SuchanekGreat video clip--one of an uncountable number of hilarious Barney Fife scenes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Two chicken tacos. The green chili sauce was the BEST.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Now I'll show a few pictures of some nice Wisconsin countryside I've never ridden before.  I'll try to describe the niceties in one or two words on the following captions.

Highway. Trees.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Goats
Heart 2 Comment 0
Flatness
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hills ahead
Heart 1 Comment 0
Corn on the left, wheat on the right. (I know I exceeded my one or two words. I guess that's because I've never seen such a distinct borderline between two crops.)
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Kinnikinik River just before it flows through the middle of downtown River Falls. (Thirteen words)
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith KleinColder than a well digger’s butt, the Little K was renowned for its native brook trout. I’ll bet it still is.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinYou'd win that bet. The Kinni is still a hidden little haven for trout fishermen. River Falls used to have a cool fly fishing shop. I should have checked to see if it was still there. I have my doubts. On the other hand, if such a small town can support two bike shops, I shouldn't be surprised if it could support a store that sells expensive trout fishing rods.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I rode into the heart of downtown River Falls, then turned eastward toward the city campground.  The campground consisted of 15 RV sites and about six scattered tent sites.  The $10 fee for the tent sites with picnic tables and water was attractive.  The site itself was not.

It's nothing special, but I've camped in worse places.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I rode back downtown to pick up some Wisconsin beer.  I like beer better than wine.  I don't know if it was serendipity, or blind luck, or the will of the God of the Church of the Great Outdoors, but I found the most appropriate beer for a Tough Guy like me.

Tough Guy IPA from Eau Claire, Wisconsin. Tough guy biker in the background.
Heart 8 Comment 3
Susan CarpenterA visit to their Eau Claire brewery seems like a can’t miss stop for your next tour. They might even put your photo on the beer can
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Susan CarpenterI thought that WAS a photo of me on their beer can. Seriously, though, that brewery visit sounds like a great idea.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 2
George HallBeer is an important part of any bike tour. Wine reviews are always good for any journal, but beer reviews would be welcome too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallI've thought about doing beer reviews, but I know too much about beer. I think it's goofier to write about something I know very little about. That would be wine.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 174 miles (280 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Scott AndersonMmm, mac & cheese for breakfast! Hope you saved some of that Alexis Bailey and a tootsie roll to go with it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonIf only I had saved some Tootsie Roll & wine . . . That definitely would have made my breakfast a "Ten Jammer."
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonWhat a great hike!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThanks, Rocky. It was a great hike, but it can't compare to your hike yesterday in the Yorkshire Dales.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Gregory GarceauIt sure was a beautiful hike and it was great to get out early.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago