****The Bike Touring Wine Review - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2022

****The Bike Touring Wine Review

Alexis Bailly Vineyards 2019 Minnesota Port

I feel like I owe you an explanation as to why I ended my last post so abruptly without including the big wine review.  As mentioned, I did conduct the tasting event and took a few notes about the wine, but I had to get the cycling related stuff written first.  After all, this is a cycle-touring website, not a wine lover's website.

So I was typing away at my picnic table, in the warm sunshine, occasionally taking a deep breath of the pine tree scent for inspiration, and getting into a good groove, when I heard a distant roll of thunder.  Then another one.  Within minutes I heard a disturbance on the other side of the campground.  It was sort of a shshshshshshshsh sound, and it was quickly moving closer and closer.

I heard some kids shriek loudly from a couple sites away, and suddenly the shshshshsh sound was more of a SHSHSHSHSHSH sound--loud and wet.  I was in the middle of a heavy downpour.

The table was scattered with my usual gear mess.  I quickly scrambled to get everything into the tent and then I threw myself in there too.  I changed out of my wet clothing, laid down to wait out the storm, made a video, and promptly fell asleep.

Enough with the excuses!  It's time to start the wine review.

************

The first thing I do when preparing for a wine tasting is to read the label.  Usually the wine maker will offer hints as to the various flavors I'll probably be tasting.  Alexis Bailly didn't do that, so I will have to rely on my own taste buds being at a heightened level of sensitivity and creativity.

Another thing I like about labels is that they often offer food pairings and other ideas for enjoying their product to its fullest extent.  Alexis Bailly did meet that standard by suggesting, among other things, chocolate and a favorite book.

Heart 1 Comment 1
Scott AndersonWe’ll we’ve been needing to come back to Minnesota, and the Surly Assertive Bastard has always been a top drawer for me. It sadly looks like it’s no longer offered, but this fortified wine looks like an excellent substitute.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

So I got my chocolate and my favorite book ready and proceeded to the uncorking ceremony.

Mmmmm, chocolate!
Heart 3 Comment 3
Scott AndersonLooks like the perfect pairing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonA match made in heaven. The best part is sipping the wine and letting it seep through the gooey Tootsie Roll lodged in your teeth.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekLooks like my kind of wine tasting- an REI mug and Tootsie roll.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Easily my favorite book!
Heart 2 Comment 0

I must say, the wine did have a beautiful ruby red hue.  Even better was the flavor.  I detected hints of lemon, sandstone and chickenskin.  And I definitely sensed the Minnesota soil in those vitas riparia grapes.  Clearly they had endured some serious suffering, which, I guess, is a good thing.

And boy, oh boy, like an actual port, it packed a powerfully intoxicating punch--a 19% punch.

All in all, it was a fine wine.  I enjoyed it a lot . . . maybe too much.  Congratulations to my hometown winery.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Suzanne GibsonNothing like sitting in a dry tent and listening to the rain beat down, even better than a Minnesota dessert wine!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonYou got that right, Suzanne. I love that sound.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamLove your choice of fine chocolate. Will look for that book — or is it something we are to make for ourselves from you posts! Good choice for that part of the tasting as well.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamYes, that book contains my rough drafts for days I don't have wi-fi. I hadn't had a Tootsie Roll in ages and had forgotten how good they were. I mainly bought that one because I was attracted to the hugeness of it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lednar De Nalloh19%..Wow, that Minnesota port really does pack a punch. Did you polish it off?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Lednar De NallohLet's just say, when I was done with the wine tasting, the amount left in the bottle wouldn't have gotten a squirrel drunk.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
Well done, bravo. The THWAPing of corks is music to my ears. And we’ll matched with the Tootsie roll.
I’m not surprised you fell asleep.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinTwo enthusiastic THWOPS to this comment. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ron SuchanekI'm glad Jim still has what it takes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago