The Introduction To Somebody Else's Tour - Not My First Frozen Rodeo - CycleBlaze

The Introduction To Somebody Else's Tour

There are maybe a dozen people who have followed the adventures of G-2 across the spectrum of three different websites, including this one, since the beginning.  The beginning was seven years ago.  For those who aren't familiar with G-2, I'll help you catch up.

G-2 is a cartoon character I created for my "The Man Who Biked to Canada (With No Complaints)" journal.  That character started out as a fun companion, but after tagging along on subsequent bike tours and hundreds of day rides, he devolved into my evil cartoon alter-ego.  He became a pest, an opinionated loudmouth, and a constant critic.

In order to distract him from bugging me all the time, I drew up a female cartoon companion.  It was love at first sight for G-2, but he was too shy to ask her out on a date.  Doris was strong and independent, and that intimidated G-2.

Yet, somehow, the two of them made a connection one day in a local coffee shop.  Fortified by caffeine, G-2 mustered the courage to ask Doris to go on a bike ride with him.  I wrote about that magical coffee shop encounter and the bike ride, but, alas, that story was eliminated from internet history.

Anyway, G-2, Doris, and friends went dancing at a cool punk rock venue a couple weeks after the bike ride.  The good news is that Youtube hasn't kicked me off the site (so far), and a video of the historic dance still remains.

There were more happy encounters between the two over the years.  Perhaps the best connection came last year in one of the most incredible coincidences in romantic bike touring history.  They just happened to meet up while simultaneously touring in, of all places, Antarctica.  They even shared an igloo one night on that desolate continent.

I happened to be touring in Antarctica at the same time.  I was a little hurt that they wouldn't let me spend the night in their snow shelter, nor would they let me ride along with them the next day.  Okay, I get it.  Who wants a third wheel tagging along?

G-2 and Doris getting cozy
Heart 6 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanAn igloo with a skylight! So romantic.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Me and my evil cartoon alter-ego on the Antarctic continent.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Back to January, 2024

G-2 and Doris are back on tour together.  Unlike me, they are ready to venture out into the Minnesota weather for fun and adventure.

It took some serious groveling, but I finally convinced G-2 and Doris to give me permission to write a real time Cycleblaze journal about their tour based on their diaries, pictures, and oral accounts.  The story of their adventure will begin in the next couple of days.  Brace yourselves.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 16
Scott AndersonCan’t wait to follow along, but keep it clean. The censors are watching.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonThanks for the reminder, Scott. The censors can rest assured that I have no intention of straying outside the boundaries of standard decency.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Emily SharpI'm glad you keep company with some hardy cycle touring types. I look forward to seeing what they get up to. But oh dear, you'll give Verne and Kermit ideas... they'll want to do their own rides too!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Suzanne GibsonI am so happy that that video survived! My fave.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensLooking forward to reading their adventures!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Karen PoretTo Gregory Garceau“Boundaries”of the igloo shall stay within the igloo ;)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Andrea BrownI’m one of the censors. Keep it clean, the paper Lycra stays on, OR ELSE.

It IS paper, right?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Karen PoretBut there is that skylight in the igloo!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bruce LellmanGreat video!!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Karen PoretTo Bruce LellmanGood thing the skylight is….ventilated ;)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Karen PoretYes, heat and igloos don't mix.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanA few years ago, I would have agreed that "great video" was the right descriptor. Now I think "weird video" is better.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Andrea BrownThere will be no stripping off of the paper lycra. I promise.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachel and Patrick HugensI'm looking forward to what adventurous material they provide me with.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonDefinitely one of my faves too, though that isn't saying much.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpSometimes our animated companions can get out of control. Good luck with Verne and Kermit. If, by chance, they should get out there for a multi-day float down a river on their own, make sure you write about it.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago