Retrospective (and a VIDEO!) - The Backyard Tour - CycleBlaze

October 8, 2020

Retrospective (and a VIDEO!)

I'm home, and with about 75 minutes of video footage. With an afternoon on my hands, I spent time with iMovie and posted a VLOG to YouTube. You can waste 12 minutes of your life, er, watch it, at My YouTube Channel. Don't worry - I won't pester you to subscribe or ask you to "smash" the like button.

This was a "getaway" tour for me - not a destination tour, or one of the big tours, like the Pacific coast, the C&O/GAP, Erie Canal, Trans-Am, etc. And as I mentioned before, I'm probably the first person to ride this route and will likely be the last. Yet, for me, it was a good time to get my head out of work, get on my saddle, and just explore my backyard for a few days. Some of my highlights:

  1. Four days of no rain. On every other tour (especially my last tour with the TWO nor-easters hitting within a week of one another) I've had a day or two of rain, sometimes more. And than day normally occurs early in the tour. This trip? Nada. And it was a pleasure
  2. I booked two campsites, and left a voice mail at a church about a third. I will say my favorite was the Floyd County Lock & Dam campsite outside of Rome. Really nice location, and very quiet and peaceful
  3. I think my favorite day was day 2 - riding through Adairsville, Rome, and then to the campsite mentioned in #2, above. Unexpected sights, and a good taste of rural Georgia. I also enjoyed just hanging out at the campsite and watching the sun go down.
  4. My kit worked very well. I made the decision to travel without a campstove and subsist on tortillas and peanut butter and Clif bars, and then supplement that with store bought food. For this short tour, I had about 20-21 pounds of gear. While places to get food were not right next to the campsite, I was able to get food a few hours before and then take it with me. Which ultimately led to the dilemma on when to eat my dinner in Day #2's entry, What is the proper etiquette for when to eat my dinner sandwich

I think that's about it. If you hung in here this long, I congratulate you. It was an interesting experience keeping up with the journal using only an iPhone and a GoPro to record video. Again, if VLOGs are your thing head over to My YouTube Channel and check it out.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Kathleen JonesReally enjoyed your ride, both the written and video versions (seemed like you enjoyed making the video as much as the ride and it shows). It's a part of the world I haven't seen much of and I'm glad you shared it.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Paul MulveyKathleen - thanks for taking the time to comment. It's good to hear from other cycle tourists, and I'm happy to know that you enjoyed the video as well. In the past I've watched some YouTube videos and always felt they weren't engaging for 8, 10, or 15 minutes. It seems those that kept me engaged had quick cuts, decent narration, and a view into how the rider felt. I tried to impart that during the tour. And getting the shots meant a lot of setting up the camera, riding back and forth, and then 4-5 hours in the editing suite (née iMovie) to polish it. And yes, I actually did enjoy it to a bit. I think the toughest part for me was trying to be natural in front of the camera. The most natural shots for me cam later in the trip - my favorite was when I'm trying to "diablo" sauce and I give that little shoulder-shrug and look to the camera - that's 100% my personality. :-)
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bob DistelbergPaul, looks like it was a great ride in a nice area. I enjoyed following along. And great job on the video! I gave it a 'like' even if you didn't ask for it. 🙂
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Paul MulveyThanks, Bob! I had fun making it and thinking through the shots and what I wanted to show at the end. There was a lot that ended up on the cutting room floor. The on-camera talent (me) had no script so that's why sometimes it seems like I trip over my words. I mean, really, what does one say? :-D
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauMan, you sure are fast taking down a tent. ("Time lapse? What time lapse?" I'm in agreement with the others -- very good job on the video.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Paul Mulvey@Greg - thanks for chiming in! Appreciate the compliment. It was hard at the beginning being the on-video talent and figuring out what to say, but by the end I think I fell into a stride. I'm going to try to do a similar video on the Virginia Creeper next.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rich FrasierThanks for taking me along to somewhere I’d never go! Loved your writing, too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul Mulvey@Rich - thanks for the comment. Glad you enjoyed it. My plans definitely changed last fall and since I still wanted to get out for a few days I figured I didn't need any time to get there, and I could basically put a mask on when going into stores. It also allowed me to extend outside of my normal riding area for a few days.

Cheers!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago