20 hours to launch - The Backyard Tour - CycleBlaze

20 hours to launch

Thanks to COVID-19, my grand plans for an overnight rail trip to Manhattan, Empire trail to Albany, Erie Canal to Buffalo, and then along Lake Erie to Erie and south to Pittsburg are Kaput! I now have the Backyard Tour

So does this mean I'm riding my bike in my backyard? In a sense, yes. My backyard is NW Georgia (the state, not the country; although I do hear the country is lovely). I'm departing from home and exploring the backroads and towns on NW Georgia. And even dipping across the border to Alabama - just to say I did! I'm sure I'm the first to tour this route, and probably the last person to do so as well. 

I'll cruise through Ball Ground (and eat at the Burger Bus - "Burger Bus - what's that?" - stay tuned in tomorrow's edition). I'll explore historic Adairsville, and test out the cycling paths around Rome (no, not that one in Italy). Day 3 brings Cave Spring, the Alabama border, and the beginning of the ride home on the Silver Comet Trail. Day 4 is all trails back to my house. My mode du transportation is my Niner RLT9 steel. I don't expect I'll be touring on gravel but even so, this bike is ideal for touring. To each his/her own, but this one just works for me. More pics to follow as I get on the road. 

A new twist on this tour I'll vlog this with some short videos. I will post links as I upload the videos. That might not be until after I return since I won't have my laptop with me. I really need to figure out how to carry a laptop to edit. If the videos come out well, then I may just go for the iPad Pro to upgrade my iPad Air. #TooManyIPadNames

The cockpit of my Niner RLT 9
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 18 miles (29 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bob DistelbergLooking forward to following along. Although that original plan sounded pretty awesome.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonLooking forward to it myself, and actually more than your original plan. I know very little - well, nothing actually - about this region.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Paul MulveyHey Scott/Bob. Thanks for checking in! I’m sitting in a campsite right now debating on when I eat my sandwich and chips because I’m hungry but it’s only a little after 3 o’clock and I don’t wanna eat dinner too early. This Tour has its ups and downs there are some roads that I have to travel on to traverse between the peaceful quiet roads and some of those are heavily trafficked. There was also a spot this morning where I had to go through a construction zone Dash thankfully it was mostly downhill and I could crank it has a huge semi was waiting for me to increase my speed. Adventure awaits tomorrow as I make my way to the Alabama border and then hit the silver comet for 100 glorious car free miles back home.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago