Puerto de las Palomas  - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

March 25, 2023

Puerto de las Palomas 

The road to Puerto de las Palomas winds through two mountains inside the Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, connecting the white villages of Zahara de la Sierra and Grazalema. The 2500 ft ascent from Zaraha to the pass is a Category 1 climb that has made several appearances in the Vuelta de España, and a few CB journals. The route is popular among local cyclists and although the pass can be tackled in any direction, the southern route between Zahara and Grazalema is said to offer better views. 

I’d planned an extra day in Zahara so that I might try the climb without the burden of panniers. I’m pretty new at climbing on a bike, having renewed my joy of cycling about a dozen years ago in the flatlands of Iowa. However, on my recent tours I’ve purposely designed routes with more elevation and I've found the challenge rewarding, if not always enjoyable in the moment. I went to bed last night hopeful that in the morning I would be refreshed and eager to tackle Puerto de las Palomas.

I woke this morning tired, so tired in fact that I played TIRED as my first guess at Wordle. It was a fortuitous choice, and I solved the puzzle in three tries, raising my spirits and motivation for the climb. After all, I’m not getting younger and, as the saying goes, the only thing stopping me was me. The weather was ideal – clear skies, little wind, and temperatures in the low 70s. There were no excuses.

After a short drop down from the hotel, I started the climb – almost seven miles with an average grade of 6.3%, according to the RWGPS route. I took my time, finding a sustainable pace that left me feeling relaxed and pretty strong. The views were magnificent and I stopped frequently, not only for photos but to get a little rest and to enjoy the moment. I greeted other cyclists as they passed, most overtaking me but a few passing me on their way downhill. Oddly – I did not overtake anyone on the way up!

I reached the top tired but elated. Access to the mirador was blocked, so I found my way to the elevation marker for the requisite photo. I lingered a bit, silently sharing celebratory moments as others reached the summit. And then it was time to head down the hill.

On my way out of town, I stopped at Plaza del Rey for a reflective look over the Zahara-El Gastor Reservoir. In the following photos, the reservoir will gradually recede as I make my way to the summit
Heart 7 Comment 0
On the way to the summit
Heart 6 Comment 0
On the way to the summit
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the way to the summit
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the way to the summit
Heart 3 Comment 0
Most of the other cyclists were men, but more than a few women passed me on the way to the top. I'm sure all were much younger :)
Heart 8 Comment 0
Most everyone who passed shared a smile and good wishes
Heart 7 Comment 0
Still climbing
Heart 5 Comment 0
Almost to the top
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 15
Suzanne GibsonYay, Susan! You're in great shape!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne - Practice run? Training ride?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Susan Carpenter:))
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonCongratulations!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rachael - I hope you’re feeling better
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierYou rock, Susan! Congratulations!! A great job!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThanks Scott!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lucy MartinWhoo hoo! 🎉 And in your awesome IPR jersey from 2019 RAGBRAI. Brava!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith ClassenCongrats ! Looks like a perfect day?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lucy MartinThanks Lucy - I knew you’d appreciate the IPR jersey
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith ClassenThanks Keith - it was a glorious day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetThat feeling of accomplishment!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Though I’m not a huge fan of descents, the downhill run to Grazalema was a was a joy, which may have been partially due to the high emotion I carried after having reached the summit. I didn’t stop until just outside Grazalema, where I enjoyed a couple of cold drinks and tapas on the plaza. The ride back to Zahara de la Sierra was relaxed, mostly downhill and then flat around the reservoir. A final climb up to the hotel required no walking this time - although I did stop briefly to smell the flowers – sweet, as was my day.

Down we go!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Arriving at Grazalema
Heart 5 Comment 0
Refreshing drinks on the plaza and a small selfie to celebrate the occasion
Heart 8 Comment 1
Patrick O'Hara There's nothing like an ice cold Coca-Cola after a hard effort!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
A parting look at Grazalema, a place deserving of a longer visit
Heart 6 Comment 0
The descent continued beyond Grazalema...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...and continued
Heart 3 Comment 0
...and continued
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
In the flats, on the way to Zahara
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the reservoir
Heart 2 Comment 0
One last hill to climb
Heart 7 Comment 0
A sweet fragrance to cap off an extraordinarily fine day
Heart 9 Comment 1
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 333 miles (536 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott FenwickThanks for the excellent tip of using wordle as a hill climbing motivator. It just maybe the trick that I might employ to coax a wordle lover that I know up the bigger hills. Very nice job today by the way!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Bill BlockOn the graph that is one steep mountain !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago