Here's the Plan - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

February 20, 2023

Here's the Plan

Today is President's Day, which falls on the third Monday in February and honors all US Presidents. Before there was a President's Day, Washington's Birthday was celebrated every February 22 and was declared a Federal holiday in 1885. 

In the late 19th century, Washington's Birthday was known as Bicycle Day. According to an Atlantic article originally published in 2015:  "... cyclists used the public holiday to hold bicycle races before cheering throngs. Local bike stores opened their doors to entice the race-day crowds, bringing them in off the snowy streets to preview the pleasures of spring."

Today seems like an fitting day to preview my upcoming bicycle tour. I’m heading off to Europe next week for a three month stay that will include three distinct cycle tours, each interspersed with brief (for me) interludes in Paris. I think of it as one tour with three acts.

I’ll arrive in Paris on Mar 1 and stay just long enough to recover from jet lag before hopping on a plane to Marrakesh for Act I – an 8 day guided tour into the Atlas Mountains of Morocco. It’s a place that I’m hesitant to tour alone, so my quest for adventure requires such a group outing.  I previously had a fantastic tour in Southeast Asia with this same company and so eagerly anticipate their version of  “Authentic Morocco.” And who knows, I may run into the intrepid Racpat somewhere in the Dades Valley.

After returning to Paris on Mar 12, I’ll have almost a week to stroll the city streets and catch some spring art expositions before the opening of Act II – a one month solo tour in Andalusia. The planned route is an abridged version of one I scheduled for last spring but had to cancel when I incurred a high ankle sprain on my first day in Paris. The current plan is to begin and end in Granada, looping together a mash-up of routes forged by other CycleBlazers that will take me and Vivien George through some of the iconic white villages of Andalusia. I’m fully embracing Semana Santa and will spend three nights in Seville during Holy Week, indulging in all night religious processions and flamenco.

Overview of the planned route for Act II - a month in Andalusia.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonOh, great. Here’s another tour I wish I was going on myself!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonFunny, I thought the same thing when I saw your spring tour in Sicily
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I’ll return to Paris in mid-April and have about ten days before heading to the south of France for Act III – cycling in the Luberon. This trip is partially planned, but I'll have some flexibility in where I might go and how long I’ll stay. It won't be too long though as I’m traveling on a tourist visa this year and need to be on a plane back to the US before May 30.  

I am certainly looking forward to the "pleasures of spring".

Rate this entry's writing Heart 18
Comment on this entry Comment 32
Scott AndersonBicycle Day! What a wonderful thing to know about. I’ve never heard this before.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesMorocco is a wonderful country. That should be a fabulous trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Susan
Sounds like a wonderful trip(s) you have lined up! We are still hammering out our plans, we may see you in France in the Luberon in May. And yes, Morocco is on our list too. Will be following along both you and the Ratpac's adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Susan
Sounds like a wonderful trip(s) you have lined up! We are still hammering out our plans, we may see you in France in the Luberon in May. And yes, Morocco is on our list too. Will be following along both you and the Ratpac's adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Susan
Sounds like a wonderful trip(s) you have lined up! We are still hammering out our plans, we may see you in France in the Luberon in May. And yes, Morocco is on our list too. Will be following along both you and the Ratpac's adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Susan
Sounds like a wonderful trip(s) you have lined up! We are still hammering out our plans, we may see you in France in the Luberon in May. And yes, Morocco is on our list too. Will be following along both you and the Ratpac's adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Susan
Sounds like a wonderful trip(s) you have lined up! We are still hammering out our plans, we may see you in France in the Luberon in May. And yes, Morocco is on our list too. Will be following along both you and the Ratpac's adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Susan
Sounds like a wonderful trip(s) you have lined up! We are still hammering out our plans, we may see you in France in the Luberon in May. And yes, Morocco is on our list too. Will be following along both you and the Ratpac's adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierLooking forward to this!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergI'm looking forward to following along Susan!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetOoh! Looks fabulous! Will you manage to walk the Caminito del Rey? It looked really interesting when we went by and I'm sad we couldn't manage it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Betsy EvansIt looks like a great trip! We loved riding the Via Verde de la Sierra last fall, and the entire area around Olvera/Setenil. Looks like it might be on your route? It's mostly unpaved, but is hard packed and I'd recommend it to anyone with a touring bike.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetYou're a braver soul than me Jacquie - the path across gorge at Caminito del Rey is beyond my comfort level. I'm quite excited about the trip and thank you and Al (and other CBers) for your advanced reporting, complete with maps. I'm sure you'll have a wonderful trip in Sicily.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Betsy EvansYes, I will be riding the Via Verde de la Sierra - it two parts. It got such great reviews from you and the Classens last fall thatI just had to include it! Thanks for the recommendation.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensHi Susan
We are in Marrakesh!
Racpat
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensLove the history of bicycle day! We are hoping we meet up with you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachel and Patrick HugensThanks - I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the meet-up!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachel and Patrick HugensMorocco looks amazing - I can’t wait to get there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesOh my - it looks like our paths just may cross in Seville at the beginning of April, earl Semana Santa. We are, strangely for us, not certain yet of when we will be where, but early April looks likely for Seville. If we chance to be there at the same time as you perhaps we can arrange a meet up?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterHi Steve - I’ll be in Seville April 2-5 and it’d be great to meet up if you and Dodie are in town. I would suggest you book ahead as availability goes down and prices go up during Holy Week. You still might be able to find something reasonable that offers free cancellation. Have fun in Portugal - I look forward to following along
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraHey Susan. Looking forward to following along! Susanna and I are in the middle of planning our summer trip. Not sure where we're going. Maybe Slovenia. Maybe a circuitous romp beginning and ending in Toulouse? Who know?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezPlease share with us the name of the company you a starting out with. It's nice to have a firm reference.

I will also be following along - it sounds like a grand time!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallWow - sounds like a great plan! Thanks for telling us about Bicycle Day, I didn't know.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kelly IniguezHi Kelly. The name of the tour company is Spice Roads. They are based in Bangkok and initially started with tours in SE Asia but now have tours throughout Asia as well as in Europe and Africa. I did the Saigon to Bangkok tour in 2016 and loved the combination of culture and cycling through places I would never find myself. I’m anxious to see how this one goes as I’m interested in one of their Northern Vietnam/Laos tours for next year.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Susan CarpenterOK-we are going to be in Seville April 1-4. Thank goodness we took your suggestion of booking early. There was only ONE place that was even close to our price point with free cancellation and we snagged it. Keep an eye on us as we move along and maybe we can organize a meetup in Seville, April 2 or 3 would probably work. So excited for this.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Patrick O'HaraThanks Patrick! I look forward to following your next adventure. Both options sound good, and I’d be happy to share some thoughts on my trip in Slovenia
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThat’s great! We’ll definitely have to stay in touch and make definite plans towards the end of the month. Looking forward to it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonSomehow I missed this page and only saw it today! Well, I know where you are because I had read the following page. And I actually knew anyway. :) Btw, feel free to mention our meet up in Luberon if you feel like it. I don't feel like starting my journal quite yet, but the excitement is mounting!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo ann and steve maher-wearyYou, too? Luberon in May? That would be great! I haven't started my journal yet, but Janos and I are going to be cycling with Susan in the Luberon in May. What a splendid meet-up that would be! Let me know if you are interested, our plans are fully booked and we hope everything will go according to plan.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo ann and steve maher-wearyIt would be great to see you again in May and have another big CB meet up with Suzanne and Janos. Let’s keep in touch.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensSusan we rode from Telouet to Ait Ben haddou today....its spectacular! We go to ouarzazate tomorrow and take a rest day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Suzanne
Yes, would love to meet up with you in the Luberon too. We are still working on plans, we will be in touch.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago