Negative/Positive Balance in a Blog - CycleBlaze

Bicycle Travel Forum

Negative/Positive Balance in a Blog

Steve Miller/Grampies

In writing a blog, one could tell and call everything as you see it. That could include calling out rotten, ugly things, or mentioning it when you feel crabby or discouraged. And on the other hand, when things seem totally wonderful, you could burble away about it.

Another approach is to not burden readers with your complaints, or problems, and to basically limit the reportage to an optimistic, positive point of view.

For technical completeness, if you happen to be a pessimistic person, or are travelling through really crappy places, you could produce a rather, or even very negative report all the time.

If a writer - how do you prefer to play it?

If a reader - how do you prefer to read it?

Reply    Link    Flag
1 year ago
marilyn swettTo Steve Miller/Grampies

I don't mind reading about everything in a journal - good and bad, and as a writer I put both into the text. That's just life on the road and some days are tough, but then you have these wonderful days!

Reply    Link    Flag
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/Grampies

I try to keep in mind that I am writing the journal for myself, if others enjoy it all the better. Of course it's not that simple - I am influenced by the fact that others are reading what I write. So I do leave out some of the petty and unkind thoughts that cross my mind in trying situations. Bitching is not the same as making critical observations. On the other hand if the going is rough and you have just about had it, I find honesty is more interesting than a Pollyana text. Maybe the keyword for me is authenticity. So I guess it's a fine line between cranky, subjective comments out of frustration (which get tiring) and an honest commentary on how you feel (which enlivens the narrative).

I have no  idea if I answered your question. 

Reply    Link    Flag
1 year ago