Day 25 - Jackson to Dillon: Smack Down in the Mountains!! Janet 10 - Mother Nature 1.....or I Can See For Miles and Miles and Miles!! - Off To See the Wizard - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2014

Day 25 - Jackson to Dillon: Smack Down in the Mountains!! Janet 10 - Mother Nature 1.....or I Can See For Miles and Miles and Miles!!

Patricia wins for fastest camp tear down and pack up! She beat Foster and us out of camp by over an hour. I think that Bob has a bottomless bag...you just throw everything in and go! We won't see her anymore as she is staying on the Lewis & Clark and we are not. Safe travel. We won't see Foster anymore either as he is picking up his pace again and leaving us in the dust!

We left camp expecting a challenging day....well we got one! The 10 + miles leading up to the first climb were actually fun and beautiful. Rolling hills with these amazing vistas that I just can't capture on the camera. Every corner we turn it is more beautiful. 

Starting today we noticed that we can see soooooo far away. At one point we think we were looking at least 50 miles away. It is just stunning. Well soon the climb began to Big Hole Pass (7,400ft). We were climbing along when the wind changed and it was in our face at about 20+ mph! Not fine....I take a rest and look at the hill and think nope...I'm walking. 

Now this is about mile 900+ for us on this trip. I realize that nearly the same thing happened on our Pacific Coast trip....going along and turn a corner near Elk get hit with a huge headwind and a big hill and it's walking time. So, I have decided that on our tours to always be on the lookout for Mother Nature just after 900 miles! Let it be known that my dear husband did NOT walk. He stayed the course and rode to the top!!!

Leaving Jackson
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading up the to Big Hole Pass...I have stopped and Jack is taking a rest.It was the wind that did me in - looking at it now it doesn't seem like it should have been that hard!
Heart 1 Comment 0
We Made It!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is how the last three days look on the map..
Heart 0 Comment 0

We have a nice downhill for a few miles. Saw some antelope but to far away to get on camera. Fun to watch though. Pretty soon the second climb of the day started. This time we didn't have headwinds but we did have a VERY steep climb. More than we expected. We made it to the top and were rewarded with a long down!! I just know we will have to work to gain it back again. But it felt good. We rolled into Dillon around 3pm. Got a room, did laundry, tried to get dinner. Seems the cook didn't show up but they didn't see fit to let us know it was going to be a very long wait.....finally got our food and back we went to our room. I have been working on this for way to long. Sorry if you find errors but I am tired and going to bed. Will fix tomorrow.

Good night.....

What are these and what do they do? They are in nearly every field. I think storage for hay in the winter? The other thing we thought of was ramps for snowmobiles...like ski ramps. Probably not!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like the volcano is erupting clouds.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We thought we could see forever!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just pretty- was on my other side. Glad I turned around!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 956 miles (1,539 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0