Zion in winter (a photo gallery) - Winterlude 2020 - CycleBlaze

March 12, 2021

Zion in winter (a photo gallery)

I don’t know how rarely it snows in Zion, but we really feel fortunate to have been here for it.  It was spectacular biking through the valley last week on a perfect day, and just as much so today both this morning just as the snow was ending and again in the afternoon when the sun broke through for a few hours.

Not much narrative here.  Rachael set out for a walk about a half hour earlier this morning, while it was still snowing steadily.  It was falling linearly and fast enough that it looked damp to me, so I decided to wait around for a break.  One came a half hour later, and I hopped in the car and drove back to the park to walk the Pa’rus Trail again.  I called Rachael before leaving to see if she wanted me to pick her up on the way, but she missed the call so I experienced it on my own again.

An amazing time to be out.  By the time I made it back to the car two hours later melting had commenced and the trail was turning slushy.

The view from our motel parking lot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I made it back to the room just in time for lunch.  We went back to the same cafe with outdoor seating and heating, and then returned to the room to wait for improving conditions.  They came by mid afternoon, and we drove into the park (the shuttle still isn’t running during the week, so cars are allowed), parked near the lodge, and hiked up to the Emerald Pools.  By the time we made it back to the car the sky was darkening, and it was snowing again on our drive back out of the park.  Perfect timing, and an incredible experience.

From our motel parking lot. You don’t even need to leave the town of Springdale to take in dramatic views.
Heart 3 Comment 0
From our motel.
Heart 3 Comment 0
From our motel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the Emerald Pool trail. After a short walk along the River the trail turns toward the cliffs and follows a stream up to the pools.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The lower Emerald Pool is to the right, below the railing. It’s a splash pool for the falls that cascade over this amphitheater. The falls are just a trickle today, but from the photos are spectacular at times.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Walking beneath the cliffs above the lower Emerald Pool.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The upper pool is above the cliffs. There’s a short trail up there too, which Rachael took while I stayed below to stare at the cliffs.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This gives a nice perspective of the scale at Zion. The cliffs really are huge. The white streaks across it are snow covered trees growing on its ledges.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the hike up, we were excited to see a mule deer hiding in a thicket below the trail. On the way back, there were four of them grazing right by the path. These two can’t have been more than twenty or thirty feet away.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Jen RahnOh, look at those ears!
Soft friendly gaze, seeming smile
And shiny noses!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Angels Landing, I think. Amazing to think that you can hike up there, and that I did so years ago. Falls do happened, with about 15 fatalities recorded so far. Coincidentally, the most recent was just last week, the day before we biked beneath. 1,800’. According to officials, the man “sustained injuries consistent with a high elevation fall”.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Andrea BrownI've hiked Angel's Landing, except myself and some other wise cowards sat down and shared some Toblerone while ex and my son went to the top.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownSmart move. It still surprises me to think that I did that, and alone and at dusk. I could have been a statistic.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Back at the motel, the sun briefly broke through again.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Andrea BrownI'll tell you a gnarly Zion story next time I see you two.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Marilyn MudgeAbsolutely beautiful pictures. Thank you!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jen RahnTo Andrea BrownI want to hear the gnarly Zion story, too!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Marilyn MudgeGlad you enjoyed them, Marilyn. We feel really fortunate to have been here at such a special time.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownOn our Portland to do list.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanType your comment here
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Bruce LellmanMy initial comment failed for some reason so I'll respond to my blank comment. All I wanted to say was that once again your photos are beautiful.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanThanks! A subtle trick, by the way: notice the delete button below comments you added? It comes in handy at times.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonWow, why have I never noticed the 'delete' option? I continually amaze myself at how strange I am!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanFor some reason the image of you in that steampunk hat just popped into my mind. I don’t know why.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bruce LellmanTo Scott AndersonI don't know either because that image actually shows me in a rare moment of normalcy.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago