Day 67: Cut Bank, MT to St. Mary, MT - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2021

Day 67: Cut Bank, MT to St. Mary, MT

Uphill, Against The Wind, With A Wisdom Tooth Infection; Child's Play

(EDITING NOTE; I finally got good wifi and uploaded the video at the end)

Heart 0 Comment 3
Steve HenryBud you did it!!!! That’s just wonderful!!!! Be careful of the wildlife when you are camping. I’m not going outside after dark because yesterday we learned that a mountain lion was on our tiny little street on Friday night. I went out that night to see the stars and I saw the dark outline of something really big sitting across the street. So I hurried in. Now I know it was that same mountain lion. So, if one could be at my house, it could be anywhere. Be careful!!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallTo Steve HenrySteve,

It may be safer for us camping in the wild than to be outside your house at night! Lions and tigers and bears, oh my!

Bud
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve HenryTo George HallBud you are Mark Twain in a bicycle. I just love your witticisms…..now on to read today’s posting!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Climbing Today; 3,111 ft                          Climbing to Date;  99,551 ft

BLUF; today was challenging at times, but I got through it.  The tooth infection wasn't a direct problem (the riding gave me enough to think about without dwelling on any soreness/pain issues), but it was an indirect problem in that I didn't have the energy I should have had after 2 rest days.  But I got up early, ate,  got rolling and made it through the ride, which is something that even yesterday I wasn't sure I could do. 

Pre-Dawn Sky Over Cut Bank, MT
Heart 7 Comment 0

I was glad to be leaving Cut Bank, it isn't exactly the sort of place where one wants to spend 2 rest days.

A Drug Use Warning Posted By The Blackfeet Nation
Heart 3 Comment 0

A Blackfeet Nation police officer passed me going the other way on Highway 2 and I waved at him.  Then he turned around and headed back towards me - I glanced at my speed and I was well under the 65 mph limit.  He pulled in behind me and used the loudspeaker to ask me to stop.  I turned around and rolled up to his window and we had a nice chat.  He asked why I didn't ride on the shoulder all the time - so that's why he stopped me.  I explained that there was loose gravel and debris including glass on the shoulder, and that I used my rear view mirror and moved to the shoulder whenever a vehicle was approaching, and then I moved back onto the roadway when it was clear.  He understood my explanation and seemed to be fine with it, but he suggested that it may be safer if I was always on the shoulder.  I instinctively wanted to tell him that a bicycle was a vehicle and that I had a right to the road, but I held back - the fellow was being nice and polite, and the fact was that I was not exactly in the U.S. where I understand my rights, I was in a subset of the U.S. that is the Blackfeet Nation and I'm not certain of my "rights" here.   Besides, it didn't matter; once he left I continued my riding as usual.

Indeed, There Were Cattle Free To Roam On The Highway
Heart 8 Comment 0

It's impossible for us today to grasp the challenges faced by the Lewis and Clark expedition.  The landscape and weather can be very difficult for a cyclist to traverse, and today we are rolling on smooth paved surfaces and we have lots of food and beverage stops along the way.  Maybe some day I will ride the ACA Lewis and Clark route to have a greater appreciation of their expedition, but I have already had small glimpses of it where it is coincidental with the Transam and Northern Tier routes.

The Lewis and Clark Expedition Endured Extreme Hardship
Heart 1 Comment 0
Horses Silhouetted Against The Mountains
Heart 10 Comment 0

The wind was hard on me today, especially so before noon.  In the pre-dawn hours it was already gusting and I needed to wear my silk balaclava to keep my face warm.  As the day warmed up the wind was still present and forced my forward speed to be about 7-8 mph while I was putting out the effort to have been moving at 10-12 mph.   Once I reached the foothills of the Rocky Mountains I got some relief from the wind, but then I was dealing with the climbs and was slowed to about a 4 mph average.  So it wasn't a super hard day, but it was a hard day nonetheless.

The Wind Was Not My Friend Today, It Was Very Cross Indeed
Heart 4 Comment 0
All of My Route Today Was Through The Blackfeet Nation
Heart 3 Comment 0
Blackfeet Cemetery On A Hill
Heart 3 Comment 0

I am glad to be out of the High Plains.  They are beautiful and rugged, but totally unpredictable for a cyclist.  The weather forecast is often wrong with regards to the wind strength and direction.  An unexpected headwind or strong side-wind gusts can totally ruin a cyclists's day.  I stand in awe of the power of the North Dakota and Montana winds.

Mountain Views As I Near Saint Mary
Heart 10 Comment 0
Mountain Views As I Near Saint Mary
Heart 4 Comment 0
Aspen Groves Are A Common Sight Now
Heart 5 Comment 0

Tomorrow we ride Going-to-the-Sun road to cross the continental divide at Logan's Pass.  The climb up will not be easy, but it will be very scenic.  Once on top, it's a downhill run for us to Lake McDonald where we will camp at Sprague Creek.  The following day we will be camping at Whitefish Lake State Park.  I don't expect to have wifi access until the day following that, so the journal update may be minimal if it happens at all. 

I have a very long video today, but the motel wifi is too weak to upload it - I've been trying for an hour and it still shows 0% uploaded - and that's after I moved to a spot outside the office seeking a stronger signal.   Maybe the next time we have wifi I can catch things up - maybe.  In the meantime, I need to clean up and get things ready for an early departure tomorrow - we intend to get ahead of the normal tourist crowd on the climb to Logan's Pass.  Good night all...

(NOTE regarding the following video; it seems that for some reason the image stabilization wasn't working on the GoPro - so this video will seem "shaky" as compared to most of the others in this journal - sorry about that, don't know why it happened)

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 3,430 miles (5,520 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Andrea BrownYou're in for a treat tomorrow. Good luck and tell that tooth to shut up for now.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezI'm so glad you felt well enough to ride!
Tailwinds to you tomorrow. Eat a good breakfast.
Jacinto says that there is a movie named Cut Bank. The opening scene is a couple stopping by the side of the road to photo some sunflowers and accidentally photograph a murder . . . from there you can decide if it's your kind of movie.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallTo Kelly IniguezKelly,

I’ll check out that movie when I get off the tour. Cut Bank seems like the sort of place where wild things could happen, and there’s a lot of open reservation land to bury bodies!

Bud
Reply to this comment
2 years ago