Day 91: Edmonton to Yungaburra - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2021

Day 91: Edmonton to Yungaburra

Start: 6:30am
Distance: 68kms
Ride time: 6:10hrs
Average: 11km/hr
Max: 58km/hr 
Finish: 2:15pm

I was up at 5:30am, ready for a big day. I stopped by a local bakery and bought a couple of salad sandwiches and had a quick coffee while I was there.

I rode south for about 10kms and then turned west towards Atherton. 

Farewell to the east coast.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Mulgrave River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Turf farm.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The start of the Gillies Range climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Wiki tells me the road used to only be one way. There were gates at either end for people to wait until the designated time to change the direction of the traffic flow.

Wiki also said there are 263 corners in 19kms and the elevation climbs 800 meters. 

There were many sections with no shoulder.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Once I'd done some climbing I was rewarded with a hazy view looking east.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Luckily this guy went past while I was having a rest.
Heart 2 Comment 0

There were not many trucks. There were lots of cars with one passing me every minute or so.

There was no wind. When there were no cars passing me I could hear many bird calls from the rainforest. 

It was very nice. 

Some creative rock art.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Kerrie McCarthyYour dad gave me a picture of this that he took up there, years ago
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Kerrie,

Wow that's amazing that it's been there so long.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
There were several spots like this, perfect for a water bottle refill.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Almost at the top.
Heart 7 Comment 0
This yellow bridal veil stinkhorn was in the roadside leaf litter.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Yellow bridal veil stinkhorn.

Near the top at Heales Outlook.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I reached the top! It was nice to have some flat ground.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It took me 3:30 hours to climb Gillies Range.

There was a small downhill at the top. I felt kinda ripped off.

The gradient in the climb was okay. Most of the time I was in 2nd gear.

The traffic was nice and I got lots of waves.

I stopped at Lake Barrine to have my sandwich and a little rest.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Lake Barrine is in an old volcano.

I arrived in Yungaburra a bit further down the road and bought some supplies.

I then went 3km down a side road to the Lakeside Caravan Park. It is next to Lake Tinaroo. 

A million dollar view for $24.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I put the tent up and had a swim before doing my daily chores of washing etc.

The park owners had a couple budgies.

Meet Greeny and Bluey.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Cheryl IvesThat's so cute and funny at the same time, love it!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I bet you got them mixed up. The owner's kids named the blue one Greeny and the green one Bluey.

I had a healthy dinner of salad and smoked salmon.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I ate early so I could return to Yungaburra. On the edge of town is a platypus viewing area at Peterson Creek.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I walked along the river bank quietly for 10 minutes and then a saw a small splash. I waited a minute more and then I could clearly see a platypus!

Very exciting!
Heart 10 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltYay! The famous platypus... first time I've seen a picture taken by a cycle tourist! Cool stuff!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Cheryl IvesThe elusive platypus! You did well to get even that photo , Vince.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Cheryl.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

The low light conditions made it difficult to get a better pic.

I watched the monotreme swim amongst the vegetation on the creek banks and swim upstream for about 15 minutes.

Then it became too dark and I was pestered by mozzies.

It was a magical way to end a big day on the bike.

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 3,991 km (2,478 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallVince,

Wow! This is an incredible adventure you are undertaking. I have never visited Australia, but it's always been on the bucket list - your journal makes me want to visit even more. Perhaps someday...

Buddy Hall
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Buddy,

I feel fortunate to have this opportunity to do the ride.

Australia is a big and welcoming place. I hope you make here. Sorry it takes so long to fly here. Hehe.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago