Day 92: Yungaburra to Millaa Millaa - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 13, 2021

Day 92: Yungaburra to Millaa Millaa

Start: 8:30am
Distance: 58kms
Ride time: 4:39hrs
Average: 13km/hr
Max: 64km/hr 
Finish: 4pm

I didn't get up until 7:30am. I had a long sleep after my big day yesterday. 

I really liked this camping spot. There were no other campers close by so it felt like the lake was all mine.

I started rolling down a country road and saw this roadside plant stall.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I feel compelled to photograph bikes in different scenarios. 

It's Mater from the Cars movie!
Heart 4 Comment 0

A bit further down the road I saw a fruit stall.

I bought a passionfruit, orange and two limes.
Heart 4 Comment 0

All for $1! It was 95 cents and I gave them a 5 cent tip.

I ate the passionfruit and orange there and then. I put the juice of one lime into my water bottle. It all tasted fresh and juicy.

My country road was narrow at times and mostly hilly.
Heart 5 Comment 0
And then I saw a tea plantation.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I only found out yesterday that they grew tea in Australia. 

I had arrived at the Nerada Tea Farm.

I frequently enjoy a good cup of tea to get me through Canberra's cold winters.

It had been a tough morning on the bike with all of the hills so I took advantage of the farm cafe. 

I had fresh leaf green tea and a toasted sandwich. The tea was nice and mild in flavour.

There is a small patch of rainforest at the tea farm which sometimes contains tree kangaroos. 

This was sole reason for my alternate route today.

The rainforest isn't fenced and the tea farm doesn't feed them or interact with them.

Tree kangaroos are rare in Australia. Far more rare than platypus. 

A minibus of tourists had just left the farm and had failed to locate any tree kangaroos so I wasn't very hopeful.

After maybe 10 minutes of searching I saw two! A mother with it's joey nearby.

They were both about 10 metres up a tree.

This is the best pic I could get of either of them. This is the mother.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Lumholtz's tree-kangaroo (Dendrolagus lumholtzi) 

They are adorable animals. Equally as adorable as koalas.

I was very excited. I couldn't stop smiling. It felt even more special because I found them in the trees.

To calm down a little I had an earl grey tea and a scone.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I watched the tree kangaroos some more before I departed. 

I forgot to refill my water at the farm so I did it in a nearby stream.

I then had a big afternoon of riding to do.

I saw this sign but sadly no more tree kangaroos.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The hilly countryside was grazing land.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There were lots of hills. Steep ups and some steep downs. I used granny gear a lot.

I arrived in Millaa Millaa about 3:30pm.

My first dinner was a fish burger.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This Kauri pine was a seedling in the year 1137.
Heart 6 Comment 0

The tree fell over in 2003 and was carbon dated to be 870 years old.

This area is known as 'tropical dairy country.'
Heart 4 Comment 1

The traditional owners of this area are the Mamu People.

I then checked in to Millaa Millaa Caravan Park. 

$22.
Heart 4 Comment 0
These stone bush curlews were enjoying the afternoon sun. They always look wary.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today I climbed 625 metres. I'll try to have an easier day tomorrow. 

Today I also clocked over 4,000kms. These milestones help keep me motivated and I feel lucky to be able to do this ride.

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 4,055 km (2,518 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0