Day 93: Millaa Millaa to Ravenshoe - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2021

Day 93: Millaa Millaa to Ravenshoe

Start: 8:45am
Distance: 42kms
Ride time: 3:23hrs
Average: 12km/hr
Max: 62km/hr 
Finish: 2:20pm

I had a sound night's sleep and the temperature got down to 16C. I haven't experienced that coolth for a few months.

I like that people approach me and ask about the ride. It's also nice to hear about other people's adventures through word of mouth.

The other day I heard about Anton Nootenboom. He is walking barefoot from Cairns to Sydney.

He is raising money for men's mental health organisations. You can read more here.

My first destination this morning was a cafe. I was still feeling fatigued from the last two days so I had a big breaky to give me fuel for today's ride.

So much food! There were also sausages that came on another plate.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I ate it all. Just.

Next destination was the Millaa Millaa Falls. It was a few kms out of town the wrong way but it was worth the time.

The road to the falls.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This scrub python was in the falls car park.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltIt has had a nice meal!

Yup, they are harmless... unless you grab one and it shows its dislike by biting you... That would end up with tooth holes and blood, but no venom.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI'm sure I would hurt even without venom. Hehehe.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Scrub python.  These are the biggest snakes in Australia. This one was about 1.7 metres. I think they are harmless to humans.

It looked like he ate something much bigger than his little head. He wasn't moving much.

I wanted to get a close up of his head. When I put my phone close to him he stuck out his tongue and I got scared.

The falls were very pretty.
Heart 9 Comment 0

I still had a lot of riding to do so I didn't have a swim.

This was on the side of a dairy farm on the way out of the falls.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Veronica Joinerlove all the cows you find.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

There was a very big climb out of Millaa Millaa. It took an hour or so.

I was rewarded with a great view of the hills.
Heart 11 Comment 0
After a lot more hills, there were a bunch of wind turbines.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I like seeing them. There should be many more of them in Australia.
Heart 4 Comment 0

They are 46 metres high with a rotor diameter of 46 metres. The place is called Windy Hill and was the first wind farm in Queensland. 

They reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 25,000 tonnes of CO2 per year.

I had a nice long down hill for 2kms to Ravenshoe. 

I passed 3 signs on the way stating this was Queensland's highest town at 930 metres.

The local tourism office recommended I visit the Little Millstream Falls. It was only 3kms away.

The walk from the car park to the falls.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The falls were nice.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I didn't swim as it was a bit rocky.

I didn't see any pythons.

I went back to town and checked in to the Railway Caravan Park.  

This is a No. 268 Capella. A plate says Railway Works No. 112 Ipswich 1925 Queensland.
Heart 4 Comment 0
$15.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today I climbed about 500 metres. I'm glad I didn't ride any further.

The Jirrbal People are the traditional owners of this area.

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 4,097 km (2,544 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0