Day 61: Clairview to Koumala - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 16, 2021

Day 61: Clairview to Koumala

Start: 7:35am
Distance: 72kms
Ride time: 4:02hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 37km/hr 
Finish: 1:45pm

Sorry, I was tardy in replying to Bill. He expertly identified the lizard from Tuesday (Day 58) as a Tommy roundhead. Thank you Bill.

I crossed several creeks today. This is Oaky Creek.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Flaggy Rock Creek.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I had done about 20kms to get to Flaggy Rock and I was happy to see there was a roadside cafe. There was no town here that I could see.

Even though I recently had some muesli bars for breakfast, I stopped and had a delicious home made veggie pie for second breakfast. 

I saw lots of sugar cane today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I couldn't remember the name of this river.
Heart 3 Comment 0

In the previous week or so, I've seen lots of big birds soaring above the landscape. I don't know what they are.

Today I saw 2 of their nests on electricity poles.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I've tried many times to get a picture of the bird without success. 

This is today's best shot. I've zoomed in a lot so there's little detail.
Heart 5 Comment 6
Deleted AccountReckon they could be Kites Vince
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltDid some internet digging and I think Andrew is onto it. Looks like it matches pictures of back kite. Also the part about soaring fits.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_kite
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Cheryl IvesAgree, a black kite for sure.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Cheryl!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Deleted AccountThank you very much Andrew. You were the first to reply so you get the Gold star! Bill and Cheryl are also in consensus.
Cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Bill ShaneyfeltThank you very much Bill.
Cheers.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Edit: Andrew, Bill, and Cheryl later identified the bird as a Black kite. Thanks guys.

The birds can be solo or in a group of three. They glide effortlessly on the wind currents. They are dark brown in colour. I haven't been able to get close to one for a better description. They look like nice happy birds.

At about the 50km mark, I stopped at a servo in Ilbilbie for lunch. I've been lucky today to have good rest stop places. I wasn't expecting any shops until I reached today's destination. 

Open road pic.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Veronica JoinerNot Much edge to the road. I hope the road was not too busy
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThe road was a little busy. I'm comfortable with the traffic. I always keep left etc.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

I arrived in Koumala and my luck ran out. The general store is permanently closed. I was hoping for a big milkshake. I haven't had one in a couple of weeks. 

Anyway, I had a cold soft drink at the pub to cool down. There are no other shops in this small town. 

I checked in to the caravan park. It is small, neat and tidy, with only 12 sites. I am the only customer here so far.

$20. Includes a $5 discount because I'm on a bike! My good luck has returned! Yippee!
Heart 5 Comment 0

My Aunty Rita asked who took the photo of me lying down at the Waverley Creek Rest Area. 

I took the pic with this small remote. It works via Bluetooth.
Heart 8 Comment 0
I also have a small tripod to hold the phone.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyGreat to see pictures of you as well as all the beautiful scenery. Glad you have those little gizmos.💕
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

I don't want to flood you with pics of me and I often don't know what will make a good pic. I'm happy to take suggestions.

While I was writing today's entry the caravan park lady came over and gave me a cold bottle of water. More good luck!

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 2,887 km (1,793 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Get the man a big milkshake for crying out loud!!!
I sense one in your very near future.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyI hope it will be yummy.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Cheryl IvesMaybe a photo of the shop where you get your next milkshake! :)
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Cheryl. I had a milkshake today and took a photo it but not the shop. I will take a pic of the shop next time.
Cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kerrie McCarthyThe more we see you the better Vince 😘
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHehehe. I'll see what I can do!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago