Day 62: Koumala to Mackay - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2021

Day 62: Koumala to Mackay

Start: 7:45am
Distance: 65 kms
Ride time: 3:22hrs
Average: 19km/hr
Max: 44km/hr 
Finish: 1:30pm

Andrew, Bill, and Cheryl identified my bird from yesterday as a black kite. Thank you guys!

Cane fields and mountains in the morning.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I met Joel and Neoni.
Heart 8 Comment 0

They started in Cairns and were heading to Brisbane. They were both riding Koga belt drive bikes. They were friendly folk.

It's always pleasing to see other cycling tourists. I wonder what it's like in Europe? Is it commonplace and less exciting?

I stopped in Sarina for a substantial breaky. It looks massive yet I ate it quite easily.
Heart 9 Comment 0

I ate it all except for the beans. I only like home made beans. I'm old and am allowed to be fussy. 

When I got back on to my bike the weather had improved. It had become overcast and I had a small tailwind!

There was more cane and more hills.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Fortunately, the road always zigzagged around the hills.

Country advertising.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is the first crocodile warning sign I've seen.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Alligator Creek. I didn't see any alligators or crocodiles.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyStill I don’t think it’s a good idea to swim there.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Crossing Sandy Creek.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Today was my fastest average speed day, and I arrived in Mackay about lunchtime.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I stopped at the botanic gardens and got a real coffee milkshake. Yum! I could've drunk two.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Cheryl IvesGood to see that you finally got your milkshake Vince:)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Botanic gardens lagoon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This cycad-looking palm had no ID label.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This interesting flowering plant had no label either. It had lots of ants on it eating the nectar.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Annie O'SheaI suspect it it's a ginger plant
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Cheryl IvesI agree with Annie, a lovely ginger flower :)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Cheryl!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Annie O'SheaThanks Mum. I've added a link to the picture.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Edit: Mum and Cheryl later identified this as a ginger plant. Thanks ladies.

The blue tiger butterfly.
Heart 11 Comment 0

Tirumala hamata.

I've seen hundreds of these butterflies during the past few weeks. They have fluttered in and around me often. Ever so lightly crashing into my arms or face. It feels special when they touch me. Like seeing a unicorn.

During the past few weeks I tried several times to get a decent pic without success until today. Wahoo!

I wanted to visit the Mackay Orchid House but sadly it is closed on weekends. 

I went to a supermarket and bought some supplies then checked in to the Premier Caravan Park. The owner was friendly and kind.

$25.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyLooks like a lovely spot to kick back and relax.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This is the camp kitchen.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It's open-air and has a few basic items. I put milk in the fridge and haven't used anything else.

This place has a pool and I sat by it in the shade on a sun lounge chair to write this journal.

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 2,952 km (1,833 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Dave ErtelHow about a few photos of the camp kitchens. We've travelled all over the world and only found that NZ reaches the same standard WRT camp kitchens. Many non-Aussie readers would have never heard of them.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Dave, thank you. I added a pic to today's blog of a basic camp kitchen.

Can you please tell me what WRT stands for? I googled it without success.
Thanks
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago