Day 6: Molong to Wellington - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 20, 2021

Day 6: Molong to Wellington

Start: 6:30am
Distance: 75kms
Ride time: 4:30hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 42km/hr 
Finish: 2:45pm

There was little traffic during the night and I slept well. It was a little cool in the morning and I even wore my jumper for a while. (I've only used it twice and it takes up a lot of space, so I will give it to Serena when I see her tomorrow.)

I saw this guy when I was leaving Molong.
Heart 11 Comment 0

He looked familiar and then I remembered I had seen him on Graham's journal. 

Graham's journal

Farmers need climate action
Heart 4 Comment 0
Steer paddock
Heart 6 Comment 0
Scenery for most of the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The topography was mostly flat and there was little wind. It was hot yet I still made pretty good time. 

10kms before I arrived in Wellington, were the Wellington Caves. 

This is a Diprotodon. It was first discovered in the Caves in 1830. It became extinct only 44,000 years ago. 

Diprotodon

It's like a giant wombat.
Heart 9 Comment 0

I went on a small guided walk in the Cathedral Cave.

The cave was used as a church and one of the stalagmites was used as an altar. The altar was last used in the 1960's.

The cave is still used for weddings.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a mild 18C in the cave. When I came outside it was 32C. It was a hot ride into Wellington. 

I found a way to ease the pain.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Veronica JoinerLove the face.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rachael AndersonLooks like a great way to cool off!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
$20
Heart 6 Comment 0
My campsite is 50m from the train line.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 390 km (242 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0