Day 5: Canowindra to Molong - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 19, 2021

Day 5: Canowindra to Molong

Start: 6:30am
Distance: 68kms
Ride time: 5:03hrs
Average: 13km/hr
Max: 44km/hr 
Finish: 2:30pm

I started early. I want to start early to avoid the heat, the wind, and have a couple hours without much traffic. 

I saw this as I was leaving Canowindra. $7 per 1,000 litres. I've never seen a paid water bowser. Luckily, I had filled up my water bottle at the campground.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Morning light on an old wheat crop.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthyBeautiful photo Vince, so many colours
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
I found more cherry plums.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I took my bike off the road and into the grass when picking the plums. When I was ready to ride again, I saw these little thorns sticking into my tyre. 

They were no match for my tough tyres.
Heart 10 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 13 Comment 0
I enjoyed a big coffee in the little town of Cudal.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This cairn was on the road between Cudal and Molong.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Sir Thomas Mitchell was knighted for helping survey Australia. He also invented a boomerang propeller. 

Sir Thomas Mitchell

Ned Kelly mailbox.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Ned Kelly

Then lots more plums!
Heart 6 Comment 0
And more delicious apples!
Heart 5 Comment 0
These sheep were keen for some shade even if it meant sitting on the tractor.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was a hard day's riding. It started off well in the early morning. By 9am, the wind started and it was mostly a headwind the whole way to Molong. I was happy to get into town. 

In the campground, I lay on the grass in the shade for about 20 minutes, just trying to cool down. The ground had never felt so comfortable. 

I have a large grassed area all to myself. $23
Heart 6 Comment 0

The main road is just behind my tent. I hope there isn't too much traffic tonight. 

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 315 km (196 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithHi Vince,
I’m really enjoying your journal. Great photos and observations.

And your ride so far is through country I’m very familiar with so it’s great visiting it again via your journal.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks mate.

Your cycling frog pic isn't loading up on your page.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago