Day 4: Cowra to Canowindra - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 18, 2021

Day 4: Cowra to Canowindra

Start: 8:40am
Distance: 35kms
Ride time: 2:38hrs
Average: 13km/hr
Max: 48km/hr 
Finish: 12:55pm

I wanted to enjoy a sleep in but 100 cockatoos screeching at 6am prevented it. I had a short day planned so I still got up late.

I had yummy corn fritters and a couple of coffees for breakfast before hitting the road. It was a relaxing way to begin the day. I had the admiration of a few customers because of my trip. 

This tree has interesting bark, I think it's an iron bark eucalypt.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I think this is last season's wheat crop.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There was a strong side wind today which slowed my progress. I was happy I didn't have far to go.
The weather has been hot this week, about 30C.

I received waves from a few people today, including a truckie.

I saw a peach tree half filled with ripe peaches. Of course I stopped to sample them. They all were scarred or disfigured a little bit. I picked the biggest one and took a bite of the juicy flesh only to find it was filled with lots of crawling fruit-fly larvae. It was very gross. I'll spare you from seeing a pic. 

I arrived in Canowindra in the early afternoon. 

I enjoyed a banana milkshake and a salad sandwich for lunch.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Then I went to the Age Of Fossils Museum. It's quite small, yet very remarkable. David Attenborough described the collection as 'world class' during his visit. 

The fossils were discovered by accident while building a new road in the area. 

Museum link.

Bothriolepis yeungae
Heart 8 Comment 0

Interesting info

Remigolepis walkeri. This was discovered in Canowindra.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I like notices like this in country towns. Yesterday, I saw one for sheep dog trials but I was too lazy to take a pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Garden wall pic
Heart 4 Comment 0

I rolled into the camp ground about 2pm. It's small with only 15 sites. The office was unattended so I called the number on the door. 

The guy was busy being a taxi driver. He said the park was full because of new arrivals booked for today. When I said I only wanted an unpowered tent site, he let me stay. Phew.

I will wild camp when the need arises, although I do really enjoy a nice shower after a hot day in the saddle.

I spent the arvo sitting in the shade reading my book. I swapped books yesterday because my previous one was a large hard cover. Now I have a small paperback, much more suitable for bike touring. 

$23 unpowered
Heart 6 Comment 1
Lednar De NallohNot cheap...but you did get some shade.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 35 km (22 miles)
Total: 247 km (153 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0