Day 3: Boorowa to Cowra - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 17, 2021

Day 3: Boorowa to Cowra

Start: 6:50am
Distance: 82km/hr
Ride time: 5:06hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 45km/hr
Finish: 1:10pm

I got up early as I had a big distance to cover. It was a bit of a struggle to get up.  I'm definitely not a morning person. I'm hoping this will change as I continue along. 

There are no towns between Boorowa and Cowra so I stopped at the bakery and bought 2 salad rolls for the trip. 

Some sulfur-crested cockatoos were basking in the morning sun.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I struggled for the first 10-15kms as it was a gradual incline.

The scenery was mostly grazing country with some lucerne crops.

Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The only roadside fruit I found today was some juicy peaches. Yum! I wonder what else I'll find tomorrow?
Heart 7 Comment 0
I wasn't going as fast as the bikes on the sign.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Eventually, I made it to Cowra. It's Wiradjuri Country. What a beautiful sign.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I liked the colour of the bark of this gum tree.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I stopped at the first cafe I saw and got a mango smoothie to help cool me down. 

I then checked in to the camp ground and got a good spot. Lush grass, shade tree, and close to the camp kitchen. 

$30 unpowered
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had a look around this very hilly town. I had to use granny gear a few times.

These murals were painted by the local high school.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
I saw this bell with a lovely story.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I went to the Cowra Japanese Garden. The biggest in the southern hemisphere. It was nice and relaxing. 

Heart 7 Comment 1
Veronica JoinerWe loved it too
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Heart 11 Comment 0
There was an unusual sculpture park nearby.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Lednar De NallohGreat photo. Shame you can't bring the doggy but with 1080 baits everywhere a good idea. All the best.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lednar, last night I wondered why I had so much room in my tent, until I realised there was no puppy anymore. :(
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

I had dinner at the Cowra Services Club. These venues are good to hang out in because they are air-conditioned, have lots of comfy seats, and good meals. It's where I wrote up today's blog. The downside is they always have poker machines. 

Tonight, I'm hoping for a big sleep with a short distance tomorrow. 

Today's ride: 82 km (51 miles)
Total: 212 km (132 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0