Day 2: Yass to Boorowa - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 16, 2021

Day 2: Yass to Boorowa

Start: 8:50am
Distance: 60km
Ride time: 3:54hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 51km/hr
Finish: 1:10pm

I had a sleep in today and got up at 8am. The caravan park is next to the main road. It was quiet during the night until 5am when the trucks started making noise so I put in my ear plugs and went back to sleep.

Today was a foraging day...

First up, I found more blackberries.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Then orange plums.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Then blue plums.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Then red plums. These were the yummiest.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Then pears. These weren't ripe and tasted yuk.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt will add weight for awhile, but we have found that pears will ripen after picking if they are close to ripe. They tend to get squishy quickly though.
Welcome to CycleBlaze, by the way. Glad to have you join us.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Steve. If I see any I'll grab a couple.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
And I found this seed in a roadside stop. I guess it's wheat, I have no idea.
Heart 1 Comment 0
These sheep were grazing in an old wheat paddock.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Farm gate art.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A nice little old church in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Frank DenmanVince good to see you are on the way stay safe looking forward to following your adventure.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Frank!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

There were lots of trucks today. They were all responsible and gave me lots of room.  And I received a few waves and toots of support today from car drivers!

Heart 4 Comment 0

Upon arrival to Boorowa, I stopped at the bakery for a large and yummy salad sandwich. I was eating at a table outside when an elderly man asked to sit opposite me. 

He said his name was Ben, but everybody called him 'Barry Outback'. He was a happy 85 year old guy. He asked me a few questions about my ride. 

He told me when he was 35, he and his son, paddled the full length of the Yukon River.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wik...

Unfortunately, as the conversation continued, it was clear he suffers from Alzheimer's. Even so, I believe he did do the Yukon River. 

I checked into the camp ground ($10 for a powered site) and then went for a ride around the town centre.
Heart 7 Comment 0
1909
Heart 3 Comment 0
1884
Heart 4 Comment 0

I spent the rest of the evening reading a book I found in the camp laundry. 

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 130 km (81 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Mathew BlowI always stop for a turkey cranberry sandwich on my drives back to forbes
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rachael AndersonIt’s great you found so much great fruit along the way.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Veronica JoinerGreat little tourist information shop on the side of the court house too.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyIt was filled with lots of home made jams and hand knitted garments from the local ladies. I interrupted two of them knitting when I entered.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Rachael AndersonI've been very lucky. It's not often the case in Australia
Reply to this comment
3 years ago