Day 51: Yandaran to Lowmead - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2021

Day 51: Yandaran to Lowmead

Start: 10am
Distance: 51kms
Ride time: 3:12hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 43km/hr 
Finish: 1pm

It was time to leave Mum's.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was nice spending time with Mum and avoiding riding in the rain too. It rained most of the time I was at Mum's. 

It always feels nice to be back on the bike after rest days. Good to get the legs working and spinning the pedals.

The road out of Yandaran.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I stopped in Rosedale for a snack and a rest.

This little grasshopper jumped on the picnic table I was using. He was about 1 inch long.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltA katydid grasshopper. Female, it has an ovipositor . A bit of google searching, and it looks like it might be a Swayer katydid.

https://www.brisbaneinsects.com/brisbane_crickets/Meconematine.htm
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill! Excellent research. I had to google what an ovipositor is so I've learnt something too. I think your spot on with a swayer. It was swaying lots like a mantis does and at first I thought it was a mantis. Cheers.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Bill later identified this as a swayer katydid. Thanks Bill.

While in Rosedale, I met Tamere. He is cycling from Tasmania to Cairns.  He was riding to 1770 today. We spoke briefly and then parted ways.

I didn't get a photo.

There was a steady amount of traffic and they were all heading to the coast too.

They are friendly in these parts and I got 6 waves of support during the day.

Once I passed the turn to the coast, there were only a few cars on the road to Lowmead.

The road was a little hilly. The weather was overcast with a little drizzling rain. Not enough to concern me.

As it was now a quiet road, I listened to some tunes to help me climb some of the hills.

I arrived at Lowmead and went to the pub. 

Not for beer. I'm trying to do this trip without drinking any beer.

The pub allows camping out the back for $10. The owner Tracey, kindly let me stay for free!

This is a very small town so I'm not expecting any late night rowdiness from the pub. There are no other shops in town.

As it was lunch time, I ordered a meal. The menu was limited to a choice of steak or steak.

It was huge and delicious.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There are no showers at the pub. 

A kind friend Fred, lives in town and he drove me to his place and back so I could have a wash. 

I didn't get a photo of Fred either. I need to start taking photos of some of the people I meet along the way.

I spent the rest of the afternoon reading and relaxing. 

I just had some snacks for dinner as the lunch was very filling.

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyCountry folk can be very obliging. They can certainly cook up a good meal, too. Happy travels.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 51 km (32 miles)
Total: 2,344 km (1,456 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0