Day 42: Rest day (Lady Elliot Island) - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 28, 2021

Day 42: Rest day (Lady Elliot Island)

Lady Elliot Island

I rode my bike to the airport. I had to check in by 7:40am. I parked my bike out the front of the building making sure it wasn't in a place where people walk past or likely to be an obstruction to anyone. My bike has a wheel lock that prevents the back wheel turning. Anyone could pick it up and carry it away but I think that is unlikely.

The airport was empty of people except for those few who were going to Lady Elliot Island.  

The plane was a small single propeller, 15 seater I think.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The flight was 35 minutes. We were flying because there are no passenger boats that go there.

The island looked amazing from the air.
Heart 5 Comment 1

Lady Elliot Island is the southernmost coral cay of the Great Barrier Reef.

One can walk around the small island in 45 minutes.

The island has a very relaxed feel to it. There were talks, reef walks, glass bottom boat rides, and scuba dives to choose from.

I did a snorkel first and saw a turtle straight away. I was very exited. 

Then I went on the glass bottom boat ride which was okay but not my favourite thing. I prefer to be in the water.

When the ride was finished, we had lunch supplied which was nice.

Then I jumped straight back into the water on the other side of the island. You can snorkel right from the beach.

I took about 100 photos during the day until my battery went flat and then it was time to get ready to leave the island.

I saw maybe 20 or 30 turtles and lots of reef fish.

Heart 6 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice underwater photos! What camera did you use?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Bill,

Thank you. The camera is an Olympus TG5. I think there are newer models out now.

One of the features that is handy having it on this trip is that I can transfer the photos from the camera to my phone using WiFi.

I use my phone Galaxy S20 Ultra for all of my non swimming photos.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0

It was an awesome day. The turtles were indifferent to us being there. They weren't swimming fast and would get close enough to touch them sometimes. But you're not allowed to.

One turtle was stationary in the water for about 10 minutes and I just floated around him watching. Then he glided casually away. Pretty cool stuff.

Bill identified this as a Sheephead Parrotfish. Thanks Bill.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltThis might be a sheephead parrotfish.
https://www.marinelifephotography.com/fishes/parrotfishes/chlorurus-microrhinos.htm

Could not find IDs for the other fish.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. I added your link. Great photos.

I have a good book on Corral Sea tropical fish at home. I'll be able to identify it when I get back.

Cheers
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Sheephead parrotfish.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
This lighthouse is only 18 meters tall.
Heart 2 Comment 0
White-capped noddy
Heart 3 Comment 0

White-capped noddy.

Bridled tern.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Bridled tern.

While I was on the island, I received a message that the airport security didn't like where I had left my bike. They had moved it to the side of the airport. 

When I returned to the airport there were no security or staff about for me to discuss the matter. My bike was undamaged so I just left. 

It was still an awesome day.

Today's ride: 14 km (9 miles)
Total: 2,073 km (1,287 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0