Day 41: Maaroom to Hervey Bay - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 27, 2021

Day 41: Maaroom to Hervey Bay

Start: 7:10am
Distance: 71kms
Ride time: 4:33hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 35km/hr 
Finish: 12:55pm

I heard kangaroos jumping around and munching on the grass near my tent during the night. They were all gone when I got up.

While I was packing up and eating breakfast I got attacked by mozzies and midges again. The insect repellent deterred them only a little.

I was very glad to get on the bike and away from them. I wasn't bothered by them for the rest of the day, only when I was in Maaroom. 

It was about 20kms to Maryborough. I had pine plantations on my left and the Poona National Park on my right. The terrain was flat.

This is crossing the Mary River.
Heart 5 Comment 0
These guys were hanging around on the other side of the river.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I think they could be a black flying fox.

Maryborough was a nice small town with several old buildings.

Silk Merchant 1901.
Heart 3 Comment 0
City Hall 1908.
Heart 1 Comment 0
1888.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had second breakfast in town before continuing on.

Today's road pic. This was consistent for the rest of the day. The traffic was constant.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped at the information centre on the outskirts of Hervey Bay. The ladies in there were very kind to me and gave me some cold water and a chair to rest. Perhaps I looked a little fatigued?

I booked a day trip to Lady Elliot Island for tomorrow and a day trip to Fraser Island on Monday. They both sound amazing and I have high expectations. 

I then continued on to the beach.

This was my first view of the water at Hervey Bay. The tide was way out.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I saw an EH Holden. The best car ever made in Australia!
Heart 9 Comment 0
The Urangan Pier is 868 metres long. I rode out to the end.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is the view from the end of the Pier looking back towards the town.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The view from my camp ground. I enjoyed a swim after I put up my tent.
Heart 2 Comment 0
$45
Heart 1 Comment 0
My attempt at a night pic of the full moon reflecting off the water.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Veronica Joinergreat night picture
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 71 km (44 miles)
Total: 2,059 km (1,279 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0