Day 33: Loganholme to Brisbane - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 19, 2021

Day 33: Loganholme to Brisbane

Start: 8:10am
Distance: 34kms
Ride time: 2:19hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 40km/hr 
Finish: 1:45pm

Last night wasn't a peaceful sleep. The traffic noise from the motor way never stopped. It was a loud hum all night. Sometimes trucks used their exhaust brakes.

This caravan park is 95% permanents. I feel sorry for them having to live with this level of noise.

The noisy motor way.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I returned to the massive shopping centre from yesterday to have breakfast and replace my broken phone screen cover.

I enjoyed the aircon and took my time wandering around.

Once on the bike, there were bike paths that took me into the city. As I got closer to the city, the cycling infrastructure greatly increased. 

The signs were helpful yet I still needed google maps to navigate the areas lacking in signs.

Here's some bike path pics from the day:

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I made it to Brisbane! Well, the Brisbane River anyway. Yippee!!
Heart 7 Comment 4
marilyn swettLove the smiley face on your mirror, Vince! We use the same mirrors. Was this refelctive tape that you cut to make the face?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rita McCarthyI’ll have to get one of those. You’re doing an amazing job. Particularly like your humour that you include in your comments. Give Serena a hug for me. 💕
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo marilyn swettHi Marilyn,
They are very useful mirrors.
The tape is 3M Conspicuity. I've covered my helmet and panniers in it too.
https://www.3m.com.au/3M/en_AU/company-au/all-3m-products/~/3M-Diamond-Grade-Conspicuity-Markings-Series-983/?N=5002385+8711017+3289529870&rt=rud
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHello Auntie,

Thank you.

I'm a huge fan of helmet mounted mirrors and have used them for years. It's very easy to monitor the traffic behind you.

Serena says hi👋🏻😍
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
This fish looked like it was made from car parts.
Heart 7 Comment 0
City pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Pic while crossing the Storey Bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I met Serena at the Apha Mosaic hotel in Fortitude Valley. 

It was great to see Serena again.

We have a big room and the elevator is big so it was easy to put my bike in the room.

We met a good friend, Mick for coffee. We used to do extraordinary things together.

Afterwards, I replaced the valve on my Thermarest mattress. Hopefully that was the cause of the slow leak. I'll find out when I sleep on it next.

Serena brought me my next map and my waterproof camera. Hopefully I'll get to do some snorkelling as I head further north.
Heart 3 Comment 0

We had yummy Thai take away for dinner. Sorry, I ate it too quickly to take a photo.

We ate it in our air conditioned room. 

I love air conditioning. 

Today's ride: 34 km (21 miles)
Total: 1,642 km (1,020 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithVince your timing was impeccable. You cleverly avoided the massive rainfall on the NSW mid-north coast.
The Waterfall Way Rd to Dorrigo is now blocked with landslides.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Graham,

Oh wow. I didn't know. That was very lucky indeed. Phew!

I would have had to do a huge detour to avoid that road.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago