Day 34: Rest day. - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2021

Day 34: Rest day.

This morning Serena and I met a new friend Clare, for a morning coffee. She's another enthusiastic cycle tourist. We spoke lots about all things cycling. It was great to meet her.

She made me realise that I'm still a bit unsure of my capabilities. I'm a bit nervous about doing Cape York. Once I complete that, I will have more confidence about completing the rest of my tour.

Then Serena and I went to China Town.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We had yummy yum cha for brunch. My favourites are lobster dumplings and mango pancakes.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Last night I replaced the valve in my Thermarest mattress. I was hoping that would fix the leak.

This morning I was disappointed to find it hadn't worked.

We went to a nearby Paddy Pallin store and I bought a new Thermarest mattress. 

It's thicker, weighs less, and is more compact than the old one. The old one is a Prolite and the new one is a Neoair Xlite.

Old versus new.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Old versus new.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyLooks like a great choice. Viola would love it because it’s yellow. Hope you have many energising sleeps on it.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyYou must have jinxed me because it failed on the first night! They will send me a replacement that should be good for energising sleep.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
These are the Rohloff internal geared hub oil change bits that Serena brought for me.
Heart 2 Comment 0

They recommend the oil be changed every 5,000kms. I was able to do this in the hotel room without making a mess.

This is the map Serena brought me. I felt a little bad for destroying it, but it makes it heaps easier to fold up each day once I remove the sections I don't need.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I think when I finish this ride, I'll buy a big map of Australia and mark my cycling route on it, and hang it up on the wall so I can reminisce when I'm older.

Here's some pics of stuff we saw today:

A Strelitzia, Bird of Paradise.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Strelitzia

A cool insect in a shop window.
Heart 2 Comment 0
1925.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0