Day 28: Wardell to Byron Bay - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 14, 2021

Day 28: Wardell to Byron Bay

Bill identified yesterday's crop as soybean. Thanks Bill!

Start: 8:10am
Distance: 50kms
Ride time: 3:01hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 44km/hr 
Finish: 2pm

After a few kms, it was time to get onto the highway again. Today it was only for 12kms.

I stopped at a large service centre for a coffee and a muffin.  The coffee tasted poorly and the muffin was dry. I didn't finish it.  I ate my banana and drank water instead, and felt much better for it. 

Happy cows.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I turned onto The Coast Road and followed the coast for the rest of the day.  It was hot so it was nice to have an onshore breeze. 

Prawns are yummy. Ballina
Heart 5 Comment 1

Bunnings paid $400,000 in 2013 to give this prawn a makeover.

This is crossing North Creek.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Banksia spinulosa. This was growing in someone's front garden. I have a smaller version in my garden.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Banksia spinulosa

On the Coast Road.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The towns had good bike paths.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lennox Head.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lennox Head.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Home made public service announcement.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Welcome to country.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I made it to Byron Bay! This town has a bit of a hippie or alternative vibe to it. It should mean I get delicious coffee tomorrow morning. 

First Sun Holiday Park is on the beach in the middle of the town. Hence the hefty $51.50/night for an unpowered site!
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are heaps of signs up in town saying no camping anywhere. This could be a challenging place to stealth camp.

I put the tent up to dry this morning's dew and then I went for a swim. It was soothing to wash the day's grime off in the ocean.

Beach next to caravan park
Heart 3 Comment 0
Masked lapwing or plover.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat shot! Matches well with masked lapwing images.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masked_lapwing
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Bill, I grew up only knowing this bird being called a plover that's why I mentioned it. Yes it was a friendly one getting closer than usual. Most times they will swoop you if you get anywhere close to their nest.
Cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Plover.

Luckily this tourist train only operates during the day.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Sandra LawnWow that$51.50 tent site is unbelievable. I thought parts of Byron Bay had washed away in recent tide/storm surges? Looks like you had some nice sand to walk on if nothing else

Enjoying following your journey
Cheers Sandy
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Sandra, yeh the price is a rip-off. I think everything in this town is highly priced for the tourist suckers like me.

I haven't seen any damage from tide or storms but I haven't explored too much of the beach. Yesterday I was too tired and it rained all today.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 1,438 km (893 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Veronica JoinerHighway robbery for that unpowered site.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago