Day 27: Woombah to Wardell - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 13, 2021

Day 27: Woombah to Wardell

Start: 8:10am
Distance: 64kms
Ride time: 3:45hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 40km/hr 
Finish: 2pm

This morning as I was packing up, another kind camper invited me to breakfast. A small group have breakfast together. This place feels like a big friendly family. I declined as I had already eaten some cereal.

The ground here was very wet and I'm pleased to report the tarp did its job and there was no water inside my tent. 

I spent half of today's ride on the noisy freeway. It was okay. A nice wide shoulder all for me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I stopped at the New Italy Museum.
Heart 3 Comment 0
And enjoyed a cold milkshake and a bolognese toasted roll. An excellent second breakfast.
Heart 1 Comment 0
After about 40kms, I turned off the freeway and on to Blackwell Drive. It borders the Richmond River.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The area is very wet.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I passed the edge of this Park briefly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I passed the Broadwater Sugar Mill.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was lots of sugar cane again and a small amount of this crop which is unknown to me.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe soybeans. Couldn't find a link with really good pictures, but this one might help.

http://www.pulseaus.com.au/blog/post/2018-19-soybean-grey-soil-bundaberg
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Bill. I think you're right. Great link. I liked that it had the plant at different ages. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Bill later identified this as soybean.  Thanks Bill!

Crossing the Richmond River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Veronica JoinerLove the wrinkles
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
what tree is it? that ground cover isn't part of it right?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyI don't think this is a native tree. It looked a bit like an oak. The plants at the bottom are bromiliads.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Sandalwood van and leisure park. $24.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 1,388 km (862 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0