Day 26: Grafton to Woomba - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 12, 2021

Day 26: Grafton to Woomba

Start: 8:45am
Distance: 63kms
Ride time: 3:30hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 34km/hr 
Finish: 1:20pm

I woke to an overcast day. Luckily I didn't experience any rain. 

It was hard to give up my comfy hotel bed and start pedalling. 

I spent most of the day cruising on Big River Way, beside the Clarence River. It was flat and not too much traffic. I only had to ride on the busy motor way for 10kms.

I stopped in Ulmarra for a coffee. While I was enjoying the drink, Steve came over and asked about my trip. He lives in the church across the road. He offered me the use of his shower. A kind gesture from a stranger.

I wasn't too stinky as I hadn't been riding long so I declined. It made me feel nice that he offered.

Clarence River flats.
Heart 1 Comment 0
More river.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Yaegl Country
Heart 2 Comment 1
Graham SmithGreat to see acknowledgement of country.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
This is the first time I've seen sugar cane on this trip. I'm sure I'll see it for the next 2,000 kms as I head north.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Sugar is Australia's second largest export crop.

I crossed Clarence River on this lower bridge but in hindsight, I should have taken the higher bridge for a better view. I was too hot to back pedal.
Heart 2 Comment 0
View from bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Veronica JoinerIt always amazes me when I see the width of this river.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Lots more sugar cane.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Graham SmithThat’ll be interesting Vince. How much of the road side view from now on will be sugar cane or other plantations.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Yesterday and today, my bike hasn't been making the knocking noise. Maybe all of the rain washed the bike clean of dirt?

Bimbimbi Riverside caravan park. $35.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is the view overlooking the river from the campground.
Heart 2 Comment 0
River bank view
Heart 4 Comment 0
I just finished inhaling a pizza and a park resident, Sandra came over and gave me some home-made coconut cookies and blueberry muffins. How wonderful!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Vince McCarthyMaybe I looked too thin and in need of nourishment?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 1,324 km (822 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0