Day 29: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2021

Day 29: Rest day

It rained all night and was still drizzling rain when I woke. It's a good coincidence that Monday's are usually my rest days.

I saw some street art while walking to a cafe.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Witch doctors and charlatans.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yummy hippie breakfast.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I went to the information centre and their only suggestion on how to spend a rainy day was to go to the library or a cafe.

I went back to my tent and read and may have fallen asleep briefly, listening to the rain.

I got bored so I rode my bike to the lighthouse in the rain. Cape Byron headland is the easternmost point on mainland Australia. 

It costs $8 to drive your car to the top or free if you're a silly cyclist in the rain. 

Wikipedia has a comprehensive page on the lighthouse

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

The light is 2,200,000 candela and can be seen 41kms out at sea.

The area is significant to the Bundjalung people.

I wanted to get up early tomorrow morning and be the first person on the mainland to see the sunrise but it's going to rain again tomorrow as well. Bummer.

Today's ride: 9 km (6 miles)
Total: 1,447 km (899 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Deleted AccountGreat street art pics mate - been to that lighthouse many moons ago.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago