Day 24: Coffs Harbour to Corindi - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 10, 2021

Day 24: Coffs Harbour to Corindi

Start: 9:00am
Distance: 39kms
Ride time: 2:36hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 51km/hr 
Finish: 12:45pm

It was a poor start to the day. There was a small puddle in my tent. The foot of my mattress was wet and so was the bottom of my sleeping bag. Luckily my electronics were dry. 

It rained over night. The water doesn't leak through the roof, it seeps through the ground sheet and the floor of the tent. What a silly design failure. 

I think I'll get Serena to bring me the ground sheet from our other tent when we meet up in Brisbane and I'll use that instead.

The morning got better with another big banana smoothie at the Big Banana. 

This is my poor attempt at using the timer function on my phone.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyLovely to see your face. Made me chuckle.🤭💕
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyIt was a little embarrassing but a funny pic so I put it on the blog.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

An older lady offered to take my picture. She tried twice and failed each time so I gave up.

I rode along the noisy Pacific Highway for a few kms.
Heart 1 Comment 1
These are fauna bridges that span the width of the highway.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then I went on to the Solitary Islands Way. This was a much quieter road with no big trucks.

It had a bicycle lane for most of the way. This road was more pleasant but it had more hills and crossed the main hwy a few times.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I'm only doing a short day today as there was lots of rain predicted. There were minor showers but nothing bad eventuated. 

I was able to dry my stuff while I went for a swim.

I think the water temperature is 23C.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I investigated the rockpools until I realised my soft city feet weren't tough enough to walk over the rocks.
Heart 5 Comment 0
When I came back to the campground, I saw these cuties chilling out and eating grass.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat photo! I love seeing the baby kangaroo in the pouch.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Corindi Beach Holiday Park. $31.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bruce CopemanVince, after waking to water under my mat when I camped on waterlogged grass I bought a 6x4 blue tarp from Kmart for about $4. It goes under my footprint when the ground is suss. Other times I use it in front of the door. Light an cheap. I am too old to sit in the dirt.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bruce. That sounds like a good fix. I'll give it a try. Cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today is an important day for me. This spot is where I ended my first attempt to do this ride last year. 

I'm happy I made it this far and I'm excited about the rest of the journey.

Today's ride: 39 km (24 miles)
Total: 1,206 km (749 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithVince congrats on reaching your first around Oz endpoint. Clearly you’re going to make it well past there this time.

In 40+ years of camping I’ve never figured out why the toe end of my sleeping bag almost always gets wet in a tent. One of those many mysteries.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks mate. The ground is very wet today but I'm confident the tarp will do its job. Cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago