Day 22: Dorrigo to Coffs Harbour - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 8, 2021

Day 22: Dorrigo to Coffs Harbour

Mike corrected me from a couple days ago. The steam driven tractor is actually a portable engine. Thanks Mike.

Start: 8:00am
Distance: 77kms
Ride time: 4:04hrs
Average: 19km/hr
Max: 65km/hr 
Finish: 1pm

Shortly after I departed, I saw this welcoming sign. Yippee!
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyNow that looks more like my kind of ride. I supposed you earned it after having to get up there. Very impressive!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

It was a great downhill. There was little traffic so I used up the whole road zipping around the tight corners. I would have averaged 50km/hr the whole way down.

I only stopped once to take this photo of Sherrard Falls.
Heart 6 Comment 0

All too quickly, it was over and I arrived in Bellingen.  The temperature increased a lot and there was lots of humidity. I could almost smell the salt air from the ocean.

A nice old Austin truck.
Heart 5 Comment 0

After a while, I finally turned off Waterfall Way and onto a noisy and busy motor way.

Crossing the Bellinger River.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was steamy and hot and I was glad when I arrived at the campsite. After I checked in, I went for a long swim before putting up the tent.

Swimming beach between the flags.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Mutton Island. I'll walk out there tomorrow. Tomorrow will be a rest day.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 77 km (48 miles)
Total: 1,149 km (714 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithWell ridden Vince. You’ve reached the beach.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyWahoo! I'm very happy!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago