Day 14: Caroona to Tamworth - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 28, 2021

Day 14: Caroona to Tamworth

Start: 7:20am
Distance: 82kms
Ride time: 4:43hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 48km/hr 
Finish: 2:25pm

Veronica identified the sorghum from yesterday. And Bill identified the cotton. Thanks guys.

A train whistle briefly woke me at 5am.

After the alarm went off a few times, I woke up to the sound of lots of corellas squawking about.

Corn crop next to sorghum.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Enjoying the morning sunshine.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was travelling on flat terrain while surrounded by many hills. 

On my right, Soma Mountain 999m.
Heart 5 Comment 0
On my left, Duri Mountain 949m.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The two producers of windmills in Australia are Comet and Southern Cross.
Heart 3 Comment 4
Mike AylingHi Vince
There were a lot of local engineering shops that made small quantities of windmills for their local areas.

Mike
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mike. I had no idea.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott DiamondI've caught up with your third attempt and now I'm reading your second attempt. (Obviously I really enjoy your blogs.) Anyway I'd see the comet windmill stuff but hadn't realized that was the name of the manufacturer. Makes sense now
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Scott. I'm keeping up with your blog too. Today I took the same short cut as you after leaving Cape Jervis.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It was hot riding so I stopped in the towns of Werris Creek and Carrabubula for a cold drink.

Grain silos with little artwork, on the outskirts of Tamworth.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I had lunch in Tamworth and then rode 5kms out of town to see the big guitar. Tamworth is the home of country music in Australia.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Tommy Emmanuel's Maton.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Paul Kelly's Squier.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
$40 powered.
Heart 2 Comment 0

This place has a pool. I used it to check for the air leak in my mattress and I couldn't find any holes. Maybe I have to be lying on it to push the air out? I've had it for 10 years. At least it had a good wash in the chlorine. 

I did my usual routine of shower and wash clothes. Then do journal. After an hour or so the clothes were dry and there were big storm clouds coming. I quickly zipped up the tent and rode like the wind into town for an early dinner.

The heavy rain shower lasted until I finished dinner, then it was sunny again. Perfect timing.

Today's ride: 82 km (51 miles)
Total: 780 km (484 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithVince welcome to my home town, Country Music Capital. That Golden Guitar was modelled on food friend’s father’s guitar. Gentle Geoff Brown.

My home village is Barraba, 80 km north of Tamworth but I also lived in Tamworth for quite a few years until
I moved to Canberra. I went to high school there etc.

There are good views back to where you rode from from Oxley Lookout in East Tamworth if you are up to a short hill ride or walk.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyG'day mate, It's a big guitar indeed.
I've been trying to learn for a couple years now. Unsuccessfully.

I won't make your home town as I'm heading to Armidale from here.

I rode/walked up to the marsupial park and that destroyed me. I wouldn't have been keen to do another hill. It seems there are often things I want to do but don't have the time or energy. Thanks for the tip anyway.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
3 years ago