Day 13: Premer to Coroona - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 27, 2021

Day 13: Premer to Coroona

Start: 7:50am
Distance: 57kms
Ride time: 3:36hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 35km/hr 
Finish: 1:24pm

For some unknown reason, the toilets were locked this morning. That meant I had to go down the street to the local park to get water.

There was a little water inside my tent. It had seeped in through the footprint and through the tent floor. I'm very disappointed as this is an expensive tent. I thought the footprint would be waterproof but I was mistaken. The tent is a Hilleberg Rogen.

There was some light rain this morning so I took my time getting up. The rain was on and off for the next few hours.

The road was flat all day. It was great not having any hills to climb. The scenery was mostly harvested crop paddocks.

It did get a little boring so I listened to a podcast to keep me pedalling away.

Rainy morning.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I don't know what this crop is?
Heart 7 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Veronica JoinerCorrect!

https://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/vegetables/growing-sorghum-zw0z1401zsto
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Veronica JoinerThank you wise Aunty.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Veronica identified this as sorghum. Thanks Aunty.

Or this one?
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like cotton.

https://cottonaustralia.com.au/the-cotton-plant
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Bill. I looked at some other pics and you are correct.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Bill identified this as cotton. Thanks Bill.

Sunflower!
Heart 4 Comment 0
I took some shelter from the rain in Spring Ridge and made a hot chocolate to warm up.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The rain stopped and it was very humid for the rest of the way to Coroona.

The campsite here is next to the town hall. There are toilets and no showers. There was only one caravan here so I had a quick wash using my water bottles when no one was watching. 

Free.
Heart 4 Comment 0
View of the back of a church from my campsite.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 698 km (433 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0