Day 12: Binnaway to Premer - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 26, 2021

Day 12: Binnaway to Premer

Start: 8:20am
Distance: 66kms
Ride time: 4:21hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 40km/hr 
Finish: 1:53pm

Bill identified yesterday's butterfly as a Forest Day moth. Thanks Bill.

I slept in a little bit. My Thermarest mattress had developed a slow leak. Lucky my tent was on soft grass.

The road out of Binnaway was very quiet. In 40kms and 4 hours, I only saw 2 cars.

Small country road leaving Binnaway.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Plenty of pasture and no livestock.
Heart 5 Comment 0
27kms of gravel road begins.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The gravel road also had sandy patches. I only had to walk once through soft sand.
Heart 6 Comment 0
A John Deer 4630 and a Gleaner L2 combine harvester.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Scenic pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was happy when the bitumen came back. I almost took a photo but you've all seen roads before.

Mailbox drug user.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Farm gate campaigning.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was very tired and hot when I arrived in Premer. There are no shops here except for the pub. 

There is a free campsite in town but it is closed because of COVID19. 

The pub accommodates camping out the back. It opens at 6pm. Then I'll be able to have a shower and dinner. 
Heart 5 Comment 0

I considered doing a free camp out of town but I was too hot and smelly.

I spent the afternoon sitting in the shade reading my book.

I was the only one at the pub (drinking soft drink).  It felt kinda weird. The owner said the usual patrons are at other pubs that have raffles on Friday nights. 

Camping $7. I stole some yummy apples from the tree for tomorrow's ride.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Lednar De NallohThey look 'Delicious'
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyExcellent observation Lednar.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 641 km (398 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0