Day 11: Mendooran to Binnaway - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

February 25, 2021

Day 11: Mendooran to Binnaway

Start: 9am
Distance: 50kms
Ride time: 3:46hrs
Average: 13km/hr
Max: 36km/hr 
Finish: 2:20pm

The alarm woke me at 5:45am. There was some light rain and storms. I went back to sleep.

At 8am, the rain had stopped. There was a headwind. I contemplated spending the day reading in the tent. I decided to pack up the tent and hit the road.

The sun came out and it was hot. Crazy weather forecast.

There were a few hills.

Sunny break in the weather.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Rain and storms in the background of a freshly tilled paddock.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I spoke to a local at one of my rest stops. He said the prepared ground were for oats, to be planted in the next few weeks. These oats will feed the cattle during winter. 

This is appropriately named Sand Creek. Most of the waterways have been dry.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I have been getting my water from the camp grounds. 

Farm gate art.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I finally made it. Unfortunately, I'm too early for the show.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lots of space to choose from.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Camping cost is by donation.
Hot showers were $2/5 minutes. 

This little butterfly was fluttering around my tent. I spent 30 minutes on the net trying to ID this without any success. Bill identified it as the Forest Day moth. Thanks Bill!
Heart 6 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltFound it! Forest day-moth. Yes, it took a lot of internet searching to find a good image match.

https://canberra.naturemapr.org/species/46161
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. Hard work I'm sure.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Forest Day moth

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 575 km (357 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0