Day 111: Hell's Gate to bush camp - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2021

Day 111: Hell's Gate to bush camp

Start: 7:45am
Distance: 73kms
Ride time: 4:22hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 38km/hr 
Finish: 1:30pm

The dirt road started straight away.

I left with 16 litres of water.  I didn't need to carry this much in hindsight. I was just a little nervous that the river might be dry or full of ravenous attacking crocodiles. 

No worries mate.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Some attractive rock formations just outside of Hell's Gate.
Heart 8 Comment 0
The road improvement works.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I saw Ruth setting up some road markers. She had her back to me. I said "good morning" and that accidentally scared her.

She was frightened of pigs attacking her. She said: "I thought you were a pig, they can kill ya, ya know!"

Once Ruth calmed we spoke for 10 minutes. She was a lovely person. She commented on some birds that were chirping or flying about and I was able to ID them for her.

We also spoke about how some caravaners travel too quickly on the dirt roads.

She used to drive 'the quads.' I thought she was referring to 4 wheel motorbikes but she meant the big road trains with 4 trailers.

I could have easily talked longer with her. I needed to do a lot more kms so off I went.

Super smooth graded and rolled dirt road.
Heart 7 Comment 0

It lasted for a few kms before turning back to a normal bumpy gravel road.

Lagoon Creek.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Tiger snake.
Heart 4 Comment 0

This poor dead snake had just been hit by a car. This is a very light coloured tiger snake. In the south-east of Australia they are a lot darker.

(Edit: I now think this is a woma python.)

This pretty flower cheered me up.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I think it's a type of rattlepod, probably a weed.

This is the only one I saw. It happens occasionally that I'll only see one plant or flower as I'm pedalling along.

At the 41km mark there was a 10km bitumen section. A nice surprise. 

Branch Creek.
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is my first water stop at the 50km mark. I had already drunk 3 litres so I filled up my water bottles with water from here with the intention to use it to wash with at the end of the day.

So long Queensland, hello Northern Territory! I'm excited!
Heart 8 Comment 8
Graham SmithGreat to cross a border. It’s just a line on a map but feels like a real achievement when cycle touring.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Sandra LawnCongratulations for reaching the NT
Cheers
Sandy
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaCongratulations you're doing well, I wouldn't even try that in a car
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Graham SmithThanks mate.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Sandy.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mum. xox
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Cheryl IvesBelated congratulations Vince.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Cheryl, I'll accept congratulations at any time. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

There are no border staff here. Just a cattle grid on the road and a couple of signs.

While I was in Hell's Gate Serena filled out an online permit for me allowing me to cross the border.

A very dusty patch of road. I was able to just ride through it.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A nearby rocky hill.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I only needed to do 70kms today. I had been looking for a suitable camp spot for 3kms.

And then I saw a big water tank.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There was a track going behind it to an area for stock to drink and there was a little shade.

I made camp next to the water again with the hope of seeing some wildlife. Friendly wildlife, not killer feral pigs.

Free!
Heart 4 Comment 0

I collected some dirt on my trip today.

I've seen other cyclists do this photo and I like it.
Heart 8 Comment 1

The water tank had a roof on it with an inspection lid. 

The water was crystal clear. The tank was full and I could see the bottom.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was a little afraid of the carbon dioxide levels or finding dead birds or bats or live spiders or snakes.

Instead I found 4 cute white-lipped tree frogs.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I jumped in the water and had a good wash and washed my clothes.

It was pretty amazing to have my own pool at a random bush camp. 

(Edit: A friend thought this was a water tank for humans. It's not, it's only for stock water.)

Next I threw out the water I had collected from Branch Creek and refilled the water bottles from the water tank. 

In hindsight I should have done this before I washed myself in it. Hehehe

Once I had done my chores, I used my sleeping bag as a cushion and sat on a log next to the water hole.

I was only 5 metres from the water and if I kept still the birds didn't mind me being there.

I saw a few different species of small birds coming in for a drink. These are the ones I photographed:

I think this is a peaceful dove.
Heart 6 Comment 0

This is the first time I've been able to photograph a pigeon. Usually they fly away before I get close enough.

This is a type of bee-eater.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Bee-eater.

White-plumed honey eater.
Heart 5 Comment 0

White-plumed honey eater.

Great bowerbird.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Great bowerbird.

Little friar bird.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Little friar bird.

Masked finch.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Masked finch.

Long-tailed finch.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Long-tailed finch.

As always I'm happy to be corrected on these IDs. I also saw galahs, willy wagtails and lorikeets. 

Wallaby.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Brahman cows.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyGreat lot of wildlife you are seeing!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI agree. It was very nice.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

This is a great bush camp!

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 5,201 km (3,230 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltRemarkable nature photos today!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. It was a great experience. Like I was in an aviary with all the birds going to and fro.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago