Day 112: Bush camp to Calvert River - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2021

Day 112: Bush camp to Calvert River

Start: 9am
Distance: 70kms
Ride time: 4:39hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 30km/hr 
Finish: 3:15pm

I had a little sleep in until 8am this morning. 

Morning pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Soon after I took this pic I had a steep climb which I had to walk for 15 minutes. 

I saw another big water tank at the 30km mark. I didn't check it for water. It could be another potential camp spot.

Throughout the day I had 4 people stop and ask me if I needed anything. It was very kind of them.

Jenny gave me a snack.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A clear stream.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Midday road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The road was gravel all day. Sometimes it was sandy or rocky. It's a little bit corrugated most of the time.

It would have been more comfortable if I was on my mountain bike. 

This green callistimen flower had a little tasty sweet nectar.
Heart 5 Comment 0
More termite mounds.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I didn't drink enough water today. I think it was due to the bumpy road as there were less opportunities to grab a quick drink.

I also had lots more breaks today to give my body a rest from the corrugations. My wrists and back would get sore and my ears felt like they were waterlogged. 

The ears went back to normal after I made camp.

It was a steep descent to the Calvert River.

Upstream.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Downstream.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I went in to the middle of the rocks so I was safe from any crocodiles sneaking up on me.

The water was clear and flowing. I was happy to drink it without using the filter. I could see lots of little fish swimming around.

Water all topped up.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I then had a wash and washed my clothes.

I walked my bike up the otherside of the river and turned off in to a bush camp area. There is one other camper here.

Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

There is a small brook behind my tent so I had the pleasant sound of running water during my stay.

I saw 22 cars today. Most of them slowed down when they passed me to avoid a huge dust cloud.

Today's ride: 70 km (43 miles)
Total: 5,271 km (3,273 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0