A Bridge Too Far? - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2022

A Bridge Too Far?

How can it be a bridge too far when you are just getting started?
Well, when it's the Astoria Bridge - - with construction
Plus, it was foggy and drizzly and folks were drivin' crazy.
I was so focused I didn't even take a picture.
Yesterday's is better, anyhow.

A nice woman flagging stopped me on the side and said,
"Honey, I'm gonna make sure you are safe and these folks slow down."
Plus, after the construction zone I could pull over for the pulse of traffic.
Still, when I got to the other side it took 6 1/2 hours for me to recover.

The Columbia River in a Sullen Mood
Heart 6 Comment 0


I got my sunshine yesterday. Today is gray and chilly.
The Columbia River is wide and sullen.
Chinook Valley Road provides a welcome respite from US 101.
Had a delicious bowl of cream curry vegetable soup at a cafe in Ilwaco.
Great place to warm up and to acknowledge that I am a bit older, now.

A Totally Empty Chinook Valley Road
Heart 6 Comment 0
Chinook Canoes at Middle Village
Heart 8 Comment 0

Then it was off to Cape Kah'eese. (Also known as Cape Disappointment)
'Cause I gotta dip my fingertips in the Pacific and taste the salt.

Spent the better part of the late afternoon listening to the seals.
They were having a party - maybe a couple of hundred of them.
Barking loudly and leaping in the water.
If I had to guess, they had rounded up a school of fish - 
and were having quite the buffet.

Swarm of Seals
Heart 2 Comment 0

I usually like to see the sun dip into the Pacific,
but it wasn't going to happen this time around.
Still, I caught a little blue in the sky
and a nice view of the Cape Disappointment lighthouse.

Cape Disappointment / Cape Kah'eese Lighthouse
Heart 9 Comment 0

Then I rode out to the end of the jetty, past the gate,
and caught a last glint of sunlight on the water.

Time for Bed and a Long Night's Rest
Heart 4 Comment 0



Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 25 miles (40 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Jeff LeeLong, scary bridges: Probably my least favorite thing about bicycle touring:(

Glad you got across safely!

Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauYour photos of the area around Cape Disappointment were not a disappointment to me. Great start to your journal.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ann M CarlossBeautiful Photos John! That bridge sounded so stressful. I’m enjoying reading about your adventures. Looking forward to seeing you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago