The Rationale - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

The Rationale

Does there need to be one?

Actually, I have been jonesing for a tour - the last one was in 2019.
The pandemic nixed tours in 2020 and 2021.
And the world has seemed to go crazy in the meantime.
So, I'd like to venture out there just to see how crazy things are.

A Pretzeled Front Wheel in Remote Hole-in-the-Wall Country, Wyoming, 1988
Heart 3 Comment 0

Thirty-four years ago, I was an utterly inexperienced North Carolina boy who smashed his bike on an empty dirt road in the middle of rattlesnake country. I hiked down the road to the nearest ranch - oh, eight or ten miles - with the busted wheel, a backpack, and a bottle of water.

Topping the last hill I saw a patch of green grass and flowers of every description all around a little white ranch house. I knocked on the door and the woman who answers says in a thick English brogue, "A spot of trouble, I see." Her husband was driving to Casper the next day. So I rode into town with him, picked up a new wheel, and came back to find my bike and all the gear at the ranch house.

Fast forward thirty-three years, and I now live in Wyoming, 50 miles north of Hole-in-the-Wall. A guest pastor named Carol Buckingham is going to preach at our church where I am the pianist/organist. I know, but she doesn't. When she arrives before church, I say, "A spot of trouble, I see." And remind her of a forlorn cyclist so many years ago. Amazing.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 0