The Early Bird - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2022

The Early Bird

Absolutely no reason to hang around the Funkytown motel.
On the road by 6:15a and glad of it. Gonna be hot today - - 
and I only have one gear. (Well, to be honest, sometimes two.)
Thankfully, I have only one steep hill to climb.

Last Panorama of the Yellowstone River
(After I Walked the Bike Up the Hill)
Heart 5 Comment 0
Frothy, Chocolate River
Heart 4 Comment 0

For the first half of the ride, Old Highway 10 stayed away from I-90.
Light traffic and not a bad way to get into Billings.
The last half was service roads - tolerable, even when limping along.
And the 6th St. railroad underpass is a real nice access.
I like underpasses way more than overpasses.

Old Barn on Old Highway 10
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rimrocks Just West of Billings
Heart 4 Comment 0

Kinda down because I'm calling it quits in Billings.
The snapped derailleur cable was just the icing on the cake.
I'm worried and feeling guity because Rayma hardly sees the boys.
Beazy and Elbie took off just after I left - and I feel it's my fault.

The Former Northern Pacific Mainline Kept Me Company for 150 Miles
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Busy Railyard at Laurel
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm glad I saw so many friends along the way.
Without a doubt, that was the high point of this tour.
The weather sucked - cold, wet, and windy.
The late, storm systems produced a lot of easterly headwinds, too.

And the traffic - everybody and their cousin were out there.
Pulling RVs, going fast, and giving me little room.
Gallatin Canyon was a death trap, but other roads were almost as bad.
Yellowstone campgrounds and many other campgrounds were closed - 
which made planning where to stay extra hard.
There will be other tours.

Lying Down on a Picnic Table
Contemplating a Cottonwood Tree and the Blue Sky
Heart 4 Comment 0

My WarmShowers host, Patience, told me to come on by at 2:00.
She has a 4 year-old and works from home.
There is no better host out there. Huge, generous spirit.
Played all afternoon with her son -
inclusing chalking out a bike race course on the back dtiveway.

Patience, Sage, and Eli
Heart 2 Comment 0

She has a one-bedroom apartmen and a kid - 
and yet, she hosted me and another rider, Eli, who arrived later.
And the food. Gourmet vegan. Vegetables, vegetables.
(She wanted me to mention the vegetables.)  Vegetables, vegetables.
Roasted potatoes and brussels sprouts with salad and chick-peas.
Cyclists - whether vegan or not - desperately crave fresh veggies.

A certain 4 year-old didn't want to take a bath,
so while Patience used all her wiles, Eli and I talked bike stuff.
Still, I wasn't long for this world - dead tired.
Eli got the air mattress, I got the pad on the floor.
He's only 20 and needed it. Plus he did 100 miles from Cody.
I am, amazingly, perfectly comfortable on the floor.

A surprising, delightful ending to the day and to the tour.
Totally unexpected.
So grateful.

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,090 miles (1,754 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Gregory GarceauSorry to see it end, but as far as I'm concerned, this was a story well told and a tour fully accomplished. It's hard to beat biking and camping in the American west.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsSorry to hear you're pulling the plug but I get it. When it stops being fun, and stops being something you want to be doing, it's time to stop and find something else to do.

If I make it as far as Buffalo, you might hear from me on Warm Showers in about a month, perhaps a little longer.

Whetyher you do or whether you don't, good luck and thanks for sharing your journey. I've really enjoyed reading it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John EganTo Kathleen JonesYou are welcome, Kathleen.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John EganTo Keith AdamsKeith - Just lemme know.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamI picked up on your tour a little late, so skimmed the first several days and will go back to actually read all about them. I have enjoyed your journal and am kinda sad you are now done with the tour, but good for you to do it at all— and to keep such a great journal with great photos.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago