Uh-Oh! - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2022

Uh-Oh!

Stunning morning, chilly morning on the Yellowstone River.
Just me and a wonderful solitude.
And the cliff swallows flying under the bridge.

Early Morning on the Yellowstone River
Heart 8 Comment 0

Packed up everyting cold & wet -
'Cause I felt the wind glowing from the west.
And in no time I was ou there on the empty road.
Getting the train engineer to blow his horn
by pumping my arm up and down. Happy.

The Engineer Honked Just for Me
Heart 8 Comment 0

Two cars in 14 miles and in no time I reach Big Timber.
I was wondering where I might find breakfast - - 
Lo and behold, there was a buffet at the Grand Hotel.
(Buffets lose moeny on hungry cyclists.)

1941 Ford on Main St. in Big Timber
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Recently Restored Grand Hotel
Heart 3 Comment 0

Next up was a visit to the local Congregational Church.
I got there early to clean up a bit and change in my best clothes.
Like so many small-town churches the congregation is small and graying.
But Tom, the keyboardist, played Mozart before and Bach afterwards - 
And the minister reminded all of us to remain aware of the least fortunate.

Big Timber Congregational Church
Heart 2 Comment 0

Afterwards we had coffee and goodies downstairs.
A young couple were getting married th enext weekend.
Tom was looking for a short interlude.
When I played my Gymnopedias he asked if he could use one.
So, now I have a permanent connection to Big Timber.

Main Street Looking South
Heart 2 Comment 0

I got to Big Timber at 8:30 and didn't leave until 3:00.
Partly because I was hoping th stubborn southeast wind might switch.
But, ultimately, I just decided to ride against the wind.
At least for 3 miles.

The Crazy Mountains
Heart 3 Comment 0
Finally Heading Out of Town
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then I heard a pop as I was changing gears.
The derailleur cable had snapped and I had brifters.
Suddenly, I realized I knew nothing about fixing brifters.
I could fix the old stuff, but all the new stuff is beyond this old guy.

Yikes! The Derailleur Cable Snapped
(But the Sun on the Grass Is Pretty, no?)
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was at a loss as to what to do.
Go back to Big Sky and catch a bus?
See if I could beg a ride?
Wait! Maybe I could ride with just one gear.

Well, the derailleur was locked on the highest rear gear.
Combined with the granny gear in front, it was kinda middling.
But the headwind made it tough going - especially if there were any hills.
What I though was going to be a leisurely ride became a slog.

Flatwater Stretch of the Yellowstone
Heart 2 Comment 0



I worried that I might not make it to Billings by Monday evening.
So, I kept pushing on - counting pedal strokes - ignoring my fatigue.
The old grain silos in Reed Point were scenic, but worth only a quick photo.
Actually, it was easier cycling on I-90 than the old road.
The grades were easier and the traffic blocked some of the headwind.

Prairie Cathedrals in Reed Point
Heart 8 Comment 0



On I continued to Columbus.
Actually, I was getting the hang of fixed-gear riding.
But the headwind made it harder than it had to be.
Somehow the 17 miles to Columbus were doable.
But I had to get off and push on a steep hill just before town.

Island in the Yellowstone River
Heart 7 Comment 0
Cyclist Shadow
Heart 2 Comment 0

Got into Columbus a bit before sundown.
The camping park on  the Yellowstone was closed due to flooding.

So I got the last room at one of th funkiest motels I've ever seen.
(And I have a <u>very</u> high tolerance for funky,)
Paper thin walls, TV going all night in the next room.
Indoor/outdoor carpet from 1978 polka-dotted with cigarette burns.
But at least the sheets were clean and I was beat.

Won't You Take Me to ... Funky Motel?
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 1,047 miles (1,685 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0