Where Do I Want to Go This Time? - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

Where Do I Want to Go This Time?

Ideally?
From a Pacific Ocean sunset to an Atlantic Ocean sunrise.
No, no, no, no, no. No bays or rivers or harbors for me.

I plan on starting at Cape Kah'eese at the mouth of the Columbia River.
Back in 1987, I began my first cross-country trip on the Oregon side.
But I have come to enjoy the Washington side more over the years.
A little longer, a little steeper, much much quieter.

The Wreck of the Peter Iredell, Fort Stevens S.P., Oregon, 1987
Heart 3 Comment 0

If all goes well, I'd like to end up at Cape Henlopen in Delaware.
But I'm much more interested in the small Eastern Shore communities.
There's an abandoned, historic AME Church on Deal Island.
I'd love to be able to get a keyboard out front and play gospel hymns.

Sunrise, Cape Lookout, North Carolina, 1989
Heart 3 Comment 0

In between, I am hoping to do back roads and visit small towns.
Much of the country I will be riding through is deep red.
I plan on keeping an open mind, yet be honest to my own views.
And to ask people how they might mend the growing divisions among us.

PS - I have discovered I am not as young as I used to be.
I suspect that the first week will tell.
And I will continue planning from there.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Jeff PaysonJohn's song,

There's sunshine in the heart of me
My soul sings in the breeze
The mountains are a part of me
I'm fellow to the trees
My Golden youth I'm squandering
Sun libertine am I
A wandering, a wandering
Until the day I die.
-Robert W. Service
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesTo Jeff PaysonPerfect.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesChapeau, John, and tailwinds.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rebecca RousseauHappy trails, dear friendđź’•
Reply to this comment
1 year ago