The Long and Short of Getting There - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2022

The Long and Short of Getting There

Getting there is one of life's challenges.
whether it is taking the first walk across the living room
or caring for an elderly parent
The process rarely starts at the jumping-off point.

Don and Me
Heart 4 Comment 0

From little ole Buffalo, Wyoming - 
My tour started with an early morning hug with Rayma
who is house-sitting and taking care of the kitties.
Then a quick breakfast snack with Don at the Fetterman overlook.
Followed by 400 miles of driving in the rain to the nearest Amtrak station.

The Empire Builder at Havre
Heart 3 Comment 0

Once in Havre, Montana - 
I discovered the disturbing news that they might not take my bike.
Which kinda makes a bike tour difficult. You see ...
Unannounced even after purchasing my ticket -
there's no baggage service to westbound trains in Vancouver, WA.
The station agent, Dave, told me he'd find a way with the conductor.
But I sat there waiting for two hours not knowing the result.
Until the train pulled in and Dave gave me the thumbs up.

A Dusting of Spring Green on the Desert Cliffs of Wallula Gap
Heart 3 Comment 0

To Portland, Oregon - 
The Amtrak train ride was Amtracky ...
Late, cardboard hot dogs, iffy bathrooms, a closed dining car.
But the scenery in Montana was spectcular, as always.
And the Columbia River cliffs were bathed in fresh spring green
under a brilliant blue sky - rare this season in the Pacific Northwest.

Union Station in Portland
Heart 7 Comment 0


Oh, by the way, the "solution"
was to let me go to Portland on a Vancouver ticket.

To Stevenson, Washington - 
My friend, Jeff, was there at Union Station to pick me up.
We drove to his place in Stevenson in the Columbia Gorge.
He and Lisa have a lovely house with a view of the river and mountains.
We went for a walk on a forest road with their new pup, Higgins.
Plus grilled tuna and basmati rice for dinner to make sure I was well fed.
Not to mention a mint chocolate bar on my pillow. Wow!

Jeff & Lisa & Mister Higgins
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sunset from Jeff & Lisa's Front Porch
Heart 9 Comment 0

And, finally, to Astoria -
We loaded up Jeff's work truck at 4 in the morning.
Back to Union Station to catch a bus out to Astoria.
And - Would you believe it? - Sunshine and blue skies.
After months of nonstop rain. Absolutely glorious.

4 Mile Long Astoria Bridge over the Columbia
Heart 4 Comment 0
Ships in the River Waiting for a Pilot to Cross the Columbia Bar
Heart 6 Comment 0
Commercial Street, Astoria under a Very Rare Totally Blue Sky
Heart 3 Comment 0


The bridge, the ships in the Columbia River,
the shops on Commercial Street all bathed in sunlight.
Everyone had a bounce in their step - including me.
Got everything packed, set up, and readjusted.
And - Guess what? - I discovered to my surprise
that I still knew how to ride a loaded bike.

Johnny Is a Lucky Boy, Indeed
Heart 11 Comment 1
Chris LeglerMixed bags, is that legal? 😅
Reply to this comment
1 year ago


Ready to go. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rutha PryputniewiczJohnny Gunn! Great to read about the start of your trip ! Loved the photos. I wish you heaps of sunshine, and the wind at your back.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago