Day 043 - Hebron to Columbus - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2023

Day 043 - Hebron to Columbus

Heart 1 Comment 0

We started our day by visiting Dawes Arboretum, where we spent a leisurely couple of hours walking around the grounds.  Most of the trees and shrubs still had their blooms, which made for a very colorful walk.  The grounds are very well kept, and the trails wound around the terrain leading you from one beautiful setting to another.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Entrance to the grounds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Rose SamsonThis Arboretum is a nice place to walk around on your own pace. Many flowers to see & planted in such a way that you want to stop & appreciate its beauty! I like it!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Rose SamsonIt is a peaceful and serene place. The security guard told us that there were a couple dozen regulars who visited every day to walk.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down at the stumpery from the bridge that crosses the ravine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are yard sculptures all over the grounds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A majestic American Beech.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As you approach, the canopy looks like it's one tree.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Actually, it's a group of four Hemlock trees.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltRhododendrons blooming nicely!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhododendron
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
The Dawes' former home
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found the counter-rotating windvane mesmerizing - Jeanna said it just made her dizzy.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These bamboos were tied in such a manner as to make a shelter. The opening was tall enough that you could walk right in.
Heart 0 Comment 0
For our friend Cathy :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
The owl as seen from behind
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One tree in a small Cherry tree garden.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenes from the Japanese Garden.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenes from the Japanese Garden.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Canada Geese were enjoying the pond - truly an international garden.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenes from the Japanese Garden.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After we finished our visit, Jeanna headed off to our motel, while I mounted up, looking forward to a day without steep hills.  I picked up the T.J. Evans trail just a short distance from the arboretum.

I rode the T. J. Evens trail to its end in Johnstown.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After leaving the trail, I had about 10 miles of very nice low volume country roads.  After that, the traffic picked up a bit, but it never was really busy until the last couple of miles.  

I had a turn to make about a mile past this sign. I decided to chance it and rode on.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going thru the 2nd set of warnings I was still wondering if I was going to get lucky. It turns out that the road was not obstructed at all. There was, however, a bunch of pipes laying alongside the road. I think they closed the road so the pipelaying equipment would not have to deal with traffic. I made it to the turn without a problem.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was not so lucky with my next road-closed sign.  Just a couple of miles from our hotel, the bridge over the Olentangy River was closed.   There was a detour sign for bikes that led to the Olentangy Trail.  I rode this trail for a while but did not see a crossing.  Now normally, I can zoom out on my Garmin to keep my track in sight and eventually get back on the route.   However, after arriving at our hotel this afternoon, Jeanna did not like what she saw, and switched to a different hotel just a short distance away from the original. She had called and told me about this, and given me a new turn list, but now that was no good.  I ended up calling her and we were on the phone as I called out cross streets and she followed along on her computer, giving me new directions as I rode along.  It was mildly frustrating, but I made it to the hotel without further incident, so all's well that ends well.

After a short break and a nice shower, we met up with my high school friend and we spent an enjoyable evening together.

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 2,021 miles (3,252 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith A. SpanglerHugs to JEANNA!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerHugs to JEANNA!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerHugs to JEANNA!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago