Day 042 - Cambridge to Hebron - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2023

Day 042 - Cambridge to Hebron

Heart 1 Comment 0

I didn't have to walk as much today as I did yesterday, but I did walk.  Several climbs today registered 13% or greater.  Going down a 13% grade is great fun - going up, not so much.  However, I'm out of the hills now, and don't have any more big-climbing days until I get to Montana at the end of July. 

Peters Creek, just outside Cambridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I spent a lot of miles today on the National Road (now designated as US-40), which was built between 1811 and 1837, and goes from Cumberland, MD to Vandalia, IL.  

About 15 miles into today's ride, we stopped at the National Road and Zane Grey Museum to learn more about the road and Zanesville's most famous author. 

Photos from the National Road & Zane Grey Museum...

The Conestoga Wagon was used extensively on the National Road. It was a heavy freight wagon and did not carry people - the driver usually walked beside the wagon near the brake handle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The museum had a 130' diorama showing the construction and evolution of the National Road. This portion depicts the initial construction.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerFunny Me....was looking for you and your rig in this image!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Drovers used the National Road to get their geese, pigs and cattle to eastern markets.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A depiction of a typical tavern on the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is a model of the original covered "Y" bridge in Zanesville. The "Y" Bridge is my hometown's claim to fame.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Standard bike from 1880.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

After I left the museum, I left the National Road, opting for quieter back-country roads.   I encountered almost no traffic on these roads until I was entering Zanesville, but the hills were much steeper than those on the highway.  Overall, though, it was a good trade-off.  

Hay is the primary crop on the hillsides.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice stretch of country road. Not many miles of today's ride were this flat.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerLook at that road! Nice
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

I had planned to take several photos of my hometown, and in fact, planned my route so it would take me past my maternal grandmother's house. Unfortunately, just after I took the above photo my camera quit working, so I have no photos of her house nor from the rest of the ride.  

I met Jeanna at Tom's Ice Cream Bowl, a locally famous eatery, where we shared a very large Tin-Roof Sundae for dessert (all their Sundaes are very large, which is why they're famous).  I can't say that the last 25 miles were the most comfortable, but I did make it, and have no regrets about the amount of ice cream I ate.

Leaving Zanesville, I was back on US-40, which had a nice bike lane for most of the way to Hebron.  There was not a lot to see along this stretch, so having a broken camera didn't matter too much. 

We made up for the lunch by having salads for dinner and then visited with Bonnie and Gene Goldsberry, relatives of mine who live nearby.

Tomorrow takes us to Columbus, where we'll spend a couple of days with my best friend from high school.

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 1,965 miles (3,162 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0